French Vanilla Slices (Mille-feuilles) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
This is one of my favorite deserts. I am from Canada, and a lot of my relatives make these when we go there. Good job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
I thought the custard tasted of flour. It wasn't very nice. Next time I will use a different pastry custard recipe. Overall, the dessert was OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lydia
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
I saw another mille feuille online which calls for lesser plain flour, I reduced the plain flour to 4 tbsp. I used only 2 sheets of frozen pastry and it took only 10-12mins to bake. My advise is to cut it into serving size before dusting the sugar. Overall, it was presentable and taste yummy and worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Selangor, Selangor, Malaysia
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
okay, so ihave made some changes.. i used 4 tbsp of flour. and i dip each baked pastry with meletd choc on the top. i used sliced strawberry instead of any other fruit used in the original recipe. turned out great..but a very bad looking dessert. all the pastry puffed and i cant put them in layers...the custard run down .....>.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I really liked it i used heavy cream strawberrys, kiwis, and rasbarry jam, for the heavy cream i beat it till it had a firm shape added some powderd suger that was the filling spread some jam and added straberris and kiwis my hubby like them. so did i
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I have made similar to this recipe for years now, but I precut the pastry before baking to a uniform size.This prevents breakage of pastry and the under-side is flatter which makes stacking easier.I also use less flour in the custard.Hope this helps others with assembling and presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephinebat10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Yummy! I didn't have a vanilla bean or castor sugar so I followed an already tried-and-true recipe for pastry cream from here: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/pastry-cream-2/detail.aspx , which came out excellent. Followed the rest of this recipe and used raspberry preserves instead of apricot. Very good and my husband and friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States