French Tourtiere Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
This was great! The prep time is minimal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
This was easy & a big hit with the kids, but the adults found it typical of traditional European country-fare: filling, but a bit boring. It was tasty, but a little dry. I'll be serving it on cold winter days........maybe with a gavy or sauce on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
This pie is DELICIOUS! Even my five-year-old husband who refuses to eat like an adult LOVED this dish! It was easy to make and tastes great. I was nervous about using a spice like mace on meat, but the spices were perfect. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
I really liked the spice blend in this pie and recommend it. It's a great do ahead meal, and this pie freezes well. Thanks, C
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
We loved this recipe. Used refrigerator piecrusts to save time. Didn't have savory but don't feel the taste suffered one bit. Took a bit longer to cook down. My husband loved the flavor. My daughter even took the filling and some iceberg lettuce to turn this into lettuce wraps like P.F. Changs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2006
My husband liked this, but it seemed a little to rustic to me. Maybe with some cheese or sausage to give the flavor some depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I would have given this recipe 5 stars, except for a couple things - mainly, I made some serious changes to the recipe, used beef instead of pork, and incorporated the half pound of bacon from which I rendered the fat. Having said that, dh and two daughters (15 and 11) loved the whole meat pie thing. "You should serve this when we have company!" and so on. I felt the recipe deserved 4 stars on principle alone. Next time I think I will make it with the pork and see how it is that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Just right. The authentic flavour was loved by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Very flavorful. I was afraid it might be bland, but loved it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Perfection! Loved it loved it loved it. This was so easy to prepare; I substituted a pinch of thyme and a pinch of nutmeg instead of savory and mace and it was delicious. I made a home-made pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Egg and Bacon Sandwich

See how to make a bacon and egg sandwich with a French toast twist.

French Crepes

These crêpes can be used with savory or sweet fillings. Bon appétit!

French Dip Sandwiches

This recipe is a crowd-pleaser, and your slow cooker does the hard work.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States