French Toast Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
This recipe was much easier than my usual waffle recipe because it doesn't require the egg whites to be beaten separately. I cut the cinnamon, sugar and vanilla in half as I thought the amounts listed in the recipe would be too much and they were delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
These waffles are awesome! I am a big waffle fan and couldn't wait to try these. I have them on average once to twice a week. I use a low carb waffle mix and after they're cooked I brush on melted I can't believe it's not butter and use smucker's sugar free maple syrup. These are "the best" waffles I've ever had! thanks Fred!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
I had to laugh at the description of this recipe "do you love French toast, but don't like the hassle?". I think waffles are WAY more hassle than French toast, LOL. However, I do like waffles so I gave this a try. It just didn't hit home with me though. The ingredient list is unclear as to whether you should use all purpose baking mix like Bisquick or a complete "just add water" pancake mix. I assumed that since eggs and milk are added, that Bisquick was the appropriate choice. It is still way to eggy for me. And now I know also that I don't care for my waffles to be sweet and cinnamony, I like them just plain with a crispy outside and a fluffy interior, neither of which this recipe achieved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
I thought these were very good, and they were a nice change from the norm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYDIAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hurst, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
These are good, nice flavor and easy to make. I nice change from regular waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
I was very excited to try this recipe, and I'll have to admit it smelled terrific in the waffle iron, but the waffles came out really dry and soft. I think possibly that this had something to do with using "complete" waffle mix (where you just add water), because I followed the directions of the recipe to a "t", even though other reviewers added more waffle mix to make the batter less runny (mine was consistent like waffle mix usually is). I may try this again sometime, since it got so many rave reviews, but for now I'll stick to my french toast and waffles seperately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
Didn't have as much flavor as I would have liked. Not much different then regular waffles. I added additional cinnamon and vanilla. Maybe increase key ingredients even more to get additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
Awesome! These were so flavorful and moist! I liked using the ready-made pancake mix for this. It saved a lot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
Yummy, they do taste like french toast! I made them in my Mickey Mouse waffler and they turned out awesome, A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEG1014

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
Delicious recipe! Definately should not let them cook until they stop steaming, check it after about 2 minutes or so. These waffles get too hard when you let them go till the waffle maker says they're done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURLYGURL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States