French Toast Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
I was a virgin waffle maker...I had never made homemade waffles before, but due to the new waffle iron I received for my b-day I had to give it a try. I chose this recipe for my first run and I must say that these waffles were ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL. They were easy to make (my 3 year old helped) and they were delicious. I followed the advice of another reviewer and doubled the batch, I also added additional vanilla and cinnamon (just a dash). I froze the leftovers successfully. Both my husband and I agreed that they were some of the best waffles we have every had (and both kids gobbled them up, which is rare). Take it from me...someone who never made waffles before, these waffles turned out perfectly. Will definately make again, it is a new favorite. Five stars for preparation and 5 stars for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gibbon, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
Great! Easy to make and my family loves them. A definite change from just plain ole waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
This is a great easy recipe that adds a little punch to ordinary waffles. To make it just a little easier, I used day old bread instead of waffle mix. You couldn't even tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
Totally rocked but I would suggest that you double the recipe if you want even try to feed a family of four...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Bruinius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2002
Good receipe...when you want a change from the tradtional waffle. It's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThornsandRoses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2002
They were delicious! My whole family loved them! And they were so simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
VERY GOOD EATIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2002
I thought these were a great change to plain waffles. I will be making these again. We are having company for the weekend soon and I will add these to our brunch menu. Even my husband enjoyed them and my nine month old ate them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
I made these waffles using the original recipe w/o any changes. They were flat not fluffy. Will try again using less egg and more vanilla. Kids loved them !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
I was intrigued by this recipe and couldn't wait to try it. My family *loves* waffles and cinnamon French toast. I ended up disappointed, though. These waffles turned out soft and a little tough, not tender and crispy as we like them. I'd rather make French toast, which is quicker and easier anyway. Or I'd rather spend a few extra minutes making waffles from scratch. These didn't even taste as good as frozen Eggos, to me. However, my kids gobbled them up. If you like soft waffles rather than crispy, you may like these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States