French Toast Stars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Delicious! My new default French toast. I did do a couple things differently, however. I used a tablespoon of triple sec in place of the orange peel as I had no oranges. The orange flavor didn't come through as well as I had expected, so next time I will use more of the liqueur or an actual orange. Watch out for cinnamon clumps in the batter! I should have used a whisk to mix to ensure homogeneity. There wasn't enough batter left to completely coat the eighth slice, but this may be because I used regular white bread which is a bit spongy and could have soaked up more than thicker bread. Cooked on medium-low heat as recommended and the slices came out perfectly (I prefer softer slices) with a bit of browning on the outside. To serve I drizzled on honey and sprinkled a little more cinnamon on top, sopaipilla-style. Fantastic! The heavy cream provides a bit of richness (but not too much) and the toast is very satisfying. Yum! Also received top scores from SO who drizzled chocolate syrup on his.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Wow! The orange zest is a wonderful, fresh addition. I used half and half and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Delicious- but it was difficult to mix together the honey with the rest of the mixture. I also decided to use Orange Marmalade instead of Orange Zest, which may have added to the thickness, but was definitely worth the hard work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alinkochan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I did not have cream so I just used milk. I can't compare but it was great with milk. I did not use the orange zest as I did not think the kids would like it. Be careful how hot the burner or you will burn the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommy_erica_b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Really, really yummy. The cream pushes these over the top- I don't know, it just makes the texture heavenly. (And I used low fat cream.) I skipped the zest and doubled up on the vanilla. Our favourite way to serve this is with that thick, fresh, crusty white French bread you get in the grocery store's bakery section. We fry it in a bit of canola oil and top with warm maple syrup. Just a thought: I've never tried the star variation, but wouldn't it be easier in some ways to make the french toast THEN cut it into stars or other shapes? And then snack on the edges :) That way the points wouldn't be breaking off in the egg mixture. Just an idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meatball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Caledonia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria Champagne Benoit
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
GReat recipe! As is! I made french toast bears and dinosaurs instead :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Champagne Benoit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I LOVED this recipe! My husband did not care for the orange zest, however, I thought it was great. I did use about a Tbs instead of 2 of the orange and it worked out great.Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Best French toast I have ever had! The star thing threw me, then I just decided to cut the crusts off and make the recipe. I'll never make french toast another way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Excellent! We used clementine zest instead of orange zest (just because we had them), half and half instead of cream, and wheat bread. Using whole, uncut slices of bread, the egg mixture was enough for 4-5 slices. Excellent combination of flavors and just sweet enough. Doesn't need a topping, but maple syrup or a light drizzle of a powdered sugar and milk glaze would be great additions to highlight the flavor. Great recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States