French Toast Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
Try this; it's much easier and includes butter--which will add flavor and depth to this recipe: In a SMALL bowl, stir 4 OZ of softened cream cheese, 1/2 stick butter, and 1/4 c syrup. Then simply microwave for a minute. Pour over bread cubes (make sure pan is generously buttered so that souffle will "rise." I've used all kinds of bread). Combine six eggs, 3/4 t vanilla, and 1 1/2 c half-and-half. Pour over the top, sprinkle cinnamon over it, and refrigerate overnight. Cook for an hour. Virtually same ingredients, different preparation--more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
472 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
Let me just start by saying that I know zip about cooking and/or eggs. I went to the store to buy eggs for this thing, and figured, hey I'll just get the jumbo size (the idea being that bigger is, naturally, better). Then I proceeded to construct the souffle following the directions to the letter. As it was baking, I finally got around to reading other people's reviews of it. Oh, a lot of people like it. But everyone who did changed the recipe. "Six jumbo eggs were all I needed. Heck, four or five would suit you just fine." As I'm reading through these the thought staring me in the face is "My souffle is going to suck." As serendipity would have it, it did not in fact suck. It was actually quite good. My company was pleased with it. I have seen others here say that it was too gooey or some such. I did not find that to be the case. It was warm and soft for breakfast. Later in the day we ate it cold and it was great---very much like a cheese danish. How versatile! From breakfast to dessert. And the moral of the story is: Leap before you look. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Delicious for brunch! My kids don't want regular french toast anymore. To avoid sogginess, I bake it (covered) for 30 minutes and then remove the cover and bake 15 minutes more. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
This recipe is so amazing. We made it today for my son's second birthday and it turned out wonderfully. I started the dish out with a thick french bread and then I coated the bread in sugar and cinnamon before pouring any of the cream cheese mixture on top. I used six eggs and 3/4 cup of syrup with a couple handfuls of brown sugar, and a couple of teaspoons of cinnamon and nutmeg. I cooked this casserole at 350 for forty-five minutes. When I removed it from the oven, I drizzled syrup all over it and then allowed it to cool for five minutes. I then took a sifter and shook powdered sugar all over the top. The extra sugar and syrup allowed it to acheive a very moist consistency and almost the entire dish was gobbled up in a matter of minutes. It is the perfect dish for a potluck, birthday, or shower. I highly reccomend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
I have made this several times adding cinnamon, nutmeg, brown sugar and pecans to the bread before pouring the milk mixture over top. To help with the sogginess, stir well and then stir again about an hour later. Stir well one more time before baking in the morning. I find this helps the mixture to soak more evenly. Tastes awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Great! I used a loaf of day-old sourdough (day-old bread is really cheap from the bakery section of my local grocery store). I really liked the sourdough taste and texture with this dish. It is very rich and filling, so a little goes a long way! I used skim milk for the milk, and whole milk for the half-and-half (since I didn't have any). It was so good! Used and served with real maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
I modified the recipe slightly and it came out perfect! I bought a loaf of THICK cinnamon swirl bread (they sell it at Costco), which I think was key. I reduced the eggs to 5 and also added 2/3 cups of brown sugar. I served this at my Mother's Day brunch, which I hosted and it was a hit with everyone! Someone even ate it as dessert with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
I have been making this for the last 2 Christmas brunches. My extended family demands it :-) I have started making it with 6 eggs and keep it in the oven a tad bit longer because we like it less soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Meh. Made exactly to spec, and wasn't too impressed. Bottom was more of a bread pudding than a french toast. Top was better, but not that impressive. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
Mine never got done in the middle and it was soggy and goopy like uncooked custard. The bread was wet too except what was above the custard, that was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States