French Toast Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I've prepared this dish many times in the last couple of years. My co-workers even request it on our "food days". I've found that using thick Texas toast bread gives the best results - holds up better than regular bread with the "drenching" of the egg mixture. I also use a 9 by 13 glass baking dish - that way, I can keep an eye on how it's browning. One more thing - I always bake for 40 minutes. It rises nicely, is not too brown and is moist in the middle without being soggy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I made this for an Easter brunch at church. I used some butter as suggested and I added a little extra maple syrup then called for. I thought this was very good and it was all ate up! I am even making it tonight for a quick breakfast tomorrow and thought about maybe adding some chocolate chips sparingly on top. I reccomend this recipe, it's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof4inmn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Fantastic, make ahead dish. Very much like bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
very good! I served for Easter brunch and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This is a great easy recipe that I highly recommend!! Family, friends and co-workers really enjoyed it AND asked for the recipe. Thank you Betty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loliekay
Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
My family and I didn't like this at all. I reduced the egg and it was still too eggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This was okay. I prefer the creme brulee casserole on this site but tried this one because I liked the idea of the inclusion of cream cheese. The kids and my husband thought it was okay but asked I go back to the "other" way of making french toast casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was pretty good, but not as great as I hoped. I made it exactly according to the recipe except I used cinnamon raisin bread instead of white bread. It was the texture that I didn't like...it was too mushy. Maybe I made the cubes too large. I wish the recipe would have advised what size of bread cubes to use...mine were about one-inch square and 1/2 inch thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This recipe turned out incredible when I used 6 supermarket bakery croissants instead of white bread. Feel free to use day old, it makes no difference. I used 6-7 eggs depending on size of eggs based on others reviews. Also, this needs to cook for MUCH longer, at least 60-70 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the manicurist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I used the revision that TROUTS328 and it was delicious. My family loved it. The only thing I would have done different would be to add nutmeg and cinnamon in with the eggs, maybe 2-3 teaspoons each, to give it a little more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States