French Toast Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Tried this 3 times. Getting it to cook evenly was the challenge I just couldn't meet. Middle was always soggy. Edges were always over-done and tough. Regular old french toast is way easier and tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALEASTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morehead City, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Meh....Not that good. I might have done something wrong though, but the bread just got really mushy and soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Great brunch dish! Everybody loved it! None left over...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This is my go-to brunch recipe. I've served this for several crowds, and it's always popular. I use cinnamon or cinnamon raisin bread whenever I can, and only about 6 eggs, depending on the size of the egg. Cooking time was longer than 30 minutes--closer to 60.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Didn't follow exact to the recipe but loved it just the same. Here were my changes: wheat bread instead of white, 2 (8 oz) pgks of cream chz, 1 3/4 milk, omitted the half and half, 3/4 c maple syrup and a 2 tsps vanilla extract. SOOOOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Ching

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
A family favorite. Easy and flavorful. The maple smell as it cooks in the morning is really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This was pretty good, but we felt it was lacking a little depth of flavor. I'll definitely try it again with a few of the other reviewers' suggestions because I think it has great potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
absolutley amazing, my family loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I've prepared this dish many times in the last couple of years. My co-workers even request it on our "food days". I've found that using thick Texas toast bread gives the best results - holds up better than regular bread with the "drenching" of the egg mixture. I also use a 9 by 13 glass baking dish - that way, I can keep an eye on how it's browning. One more thing - I always bake for 40 minutes. It rises nicely, is not too brown and is moist in the middle without being soggy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I made this for an Easter brunch at church. I used some butter as suggested and I added a little extra maple syrup then called for. I thought this was very good and it was all ate up! I am even making it tonight for a quick breakfast tomorrow and thought about maybe adding some chocolate chips sparingly on top. I reccomend this recipe, it's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof4inmn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States