French Toast Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
this is an unbelievable breakfast and dessert in one! So decadent and rich, one of the best things Ive ever had--seriously! I highly recommend however, forgetting about the confectioner's sugar, its already SO sweet, and topping it with a fresh, homemade warm strawberry sauce and whipped cream. Maple syrup was just too sweet for this delish dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I am giving it 4 stars because it is a very nice basic recipe. However, I have made some changes because I felt it needed "something". After trying it exactly as the recipe suggested, I made it again with a few changes. I used an italian bread (I have tried it with challah too- yummy!) I took frozen berries and sprinkled them with a little sugar (to taste really). I put the berries in a small saucepan and let them reduce into a yummy sauce. I then drizzled that sauce on the souffle after it came out of the oven. You may wish to add fresh berries after you drizzle the sauce. I used this instead of using maple syrup. I served it to a friend who said it was divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
My husband and son, bread eaters through and through, loved this. I thought it was better than most baked french toast dishes, but lacked the richness I'd expect with the cream cheese and half and half. I did make one change - no real maple syrup on hand so I used honey. It was sweet, but not too sweet. Topped it with fresh made blueberry syrup and it was a very filling and very pretty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This recipes is actually from cooking light, and my grandmother gave it to me. I was so glad to find it online here at allrecipes since I have a tendency to lose papers. BUT THIS IS SOOOOO good! super easy to make and can be made the night before, so its great for easy brunch entertaining. You can add some grand manier and orange zest, and it adds great flavor to the souffle. I made both one with orange and one without, and everyone who tried it loved both, but the orange was the first to be finished! but everyone wanted to take the rest home... great recipe, and love the fact that its not too sweet because people can decide whether or not they want to put maple syrup on it. BUT AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I found it dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I made this for my mom on Mother's Day. It was very simple and very good. I didn't change a thing. It baked up beautiful. I served it warm with fresh sliced strawberries and a dollop of whipped cream. I would recommend this for any (or no) occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Sellers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Definitely recommend this, yummy with cool whip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YOUNGCHEF24

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Best French toast souffle recipe around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
This was just o.k. I would agree with other reviewers in that I felt it needed something...just not sure what. I will probably try again with another reviewer's changes; adding butter and cinnamon. That may have been what it needed. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This was more like bread pudding than french toast. I used half the cream cheese and added a couple tbsp of melted butter. I also used cubed french bread instead of white. It was very tasty and my brunch guests really seemed to enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States