French Toast Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Great flavor. We didn't care for the bread pudding texture for breakfast, but would be an excellent dessert with the right sauce on it. Used sour dough french bread and loved that the cream cheese melted in so that my picky husband didn't notice it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Very good. I added some cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecilia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This tastes great! I made a few minor changes based on previous reviews. Nothing major, just what seemed to work for other people. I didn't make it overnight because I didn't have the time. I made it the morning of, and let the ingredients soak together for about 45 minutes before putting it in the oven. I used French bread. I added 1/2 stick of butter, because other reviews said it made a difference, plus I increased the vanilla to 1 tsp. and added 1 tsp. of cinnamon. Also, I didn't have maple syrup in the house, so I used honey. Again, this was a GREAT recipe and everyone in our house LOVED it! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Found this from Cooking Light. Excellent recipe, very easy. I used whole slices of stale white bread. I did flip the slices before cooking so that all sides were evenly coated with egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I prepared this for a group of critical fire fighters Christmas morning for breakfast, and got a unanimous 2 thumbs all the way around the table. I made a few changes to this, and it was phenomonal. For starters, I used thick (1") sliced whole wheat french bread to cover the bottom of the pan. I coated the french bread with melted butter, and cinnamon sugar. I substituted the half and half for heavy cream, and used all eight eggs in the batter. I added an additional 1/4 of maple syrup, and approximately 1/2 a cup of brown sugar, as well as a heaping teaspoon each of nutmeg and cinnamon, and 3 tablespoons of butter. I also used the regular Philadelphia cream cheese vice the low fat version. I let it emulsify all night in the fridge, and in the morning I baked it at 350 degrees for thirty minutes, to find that the knife wouldn't come clean in the center. I baked it for an additional 10 minutes, and it came out just right. I would suggest checking it at 30 with the knife, and using that as your guage for when it's done. It came out with a delicious sweet taste, that was not overbearing, and light and fluffy, with a very smooth texture. It wasn't too soggy at all. I served it up with grated sweet potato hash browns cooked with diced bacon and chopped onion, and linked sausage. It was EXACTLY what Christmas breakfast in the firehouse, or any house, should be. This was delicious throughout the day cold, and would also make a great dessert. Don't forget the confection
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
When I make french toast I use a bit of cinnamon in the egg and milk dip. This recipe did not call for cinnamon, so when I sifted the powdered sugar on top I also added a bit of cinnamon. This recipe is absoulutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rockton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Bleh. Soggy. Didn't like the flavor. Ruined my christmas breakfast. We threw it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
extremely good for the amount of effort put in. I did bake covered for 25 mins, then uncovered for 15 mins. I didn't have any mushy parts. I added a lot of cinnamon and 2 tsp of nutmeg. I love making this when we have a houseful over for breakfast. Everyone eats at the same time!!! No waiting for the next piece of french toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I made this for breakfast on Thanksgiving morning, and my family loved it! I plan on making it for a pot-luck brunch in about two weeks, but I will probably add cinnamon and nutmeg. I think some extra spice might take this recipe from "good" to "GREAT!". **EDIT** I just realized that my written recipe says to cook this for 50 minutes, which is what I did. It came out perfect, so I agree with other reviews that you will probably need a longer baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Yummy! Perfect for lazy Sunday morning brunch. Don't worry about it if you don't have time to let this sit overnight. I've made it before in the morning, and I just let it sit out 30 minutes or so before baking. I gave it five stars, but I added a few flavors to compliment the base recipe; a splash or two of orange juice (I never measure!), a few shakes of cinnamon, and a little nutmeg really add depth. I sprinkle cinnamon sugar on top as well. I'm looking forward to trying this cold as a left-over, but so far I've never had the chance...there's never any left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizbethrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States