French Toast Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Followed TROUTS328's review
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Makes a great brunch. Add fruit or jelly on top makes even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stockport, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This was really good and a snap to put together. My kids "don't like French Toast".... aka "they haven't tried it..." and both of them seemed to be able to put this away without problem. I made it as written, but divided in 1/2... next time, I will stir the bread and egg mixture before refrigerating... as it seemed that the eggs settled to the bottom 1/2 and left the top 1/2 rather crouton-y. I cubed up part of a French baguette.... the texture was really nice. A keeper! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rbcary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eustis, Florida, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
We made this last minute and didn't have cream cheese - so instead of cream cheese, milk and half&half - we used 1/4 cup butter, 1 cup heavy whipping cream, 6 eggs, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 cup syrup and 1/2 cup white sugar. Poured over half loaf of white bread cut in cubes in a 9x9 baking dish and baked at 375F for 45 minutes. It was perfect and not a crumb left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Very good recipe. I think it tastes best when you use 12 grain bread and honey & nut cream cheese. In the reviews section - you can rate by most helpful. I have used the suggestion of using less cream cheese, adding syrup, & less eggs, plus more half & half & thickly buttering the pan. I often get this as a request. Taste great. My only caution - you do need to let it set in the fridge for a few hours (at least). This way everything has a chance to set. And don't forget to let it set out so you don't break your dish (been there done that). Will keep and make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARCIA99116

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fortville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Kind of blah, but did the trick. Filled some bellies. Next time I will add maybe 4 eggs with 4 egg yolks to give it a richer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westchester, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This recipe came through my email one day. Since we were going to our Escapee Chapter Rally, I thought this would be a good dish for a crowd. I was wrong. It was an excellent dish for a crowd and it was gone in no time. It was easy to make and tasted delicious. I did add cinnamon to the powdered sugar on top, but will add it to the eggs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I'm not much on breakfast but i've been wanting to do this one for a while now. Wow, I'm glad I did. It was really, really good! It was easy to put together, I especially liked the day-ahead preparation. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This recipe was great! I made this for Christmas brunch exactly as the diretions said and everyone loved it. I did cook it for longer than the recipe called for, but I didn't let it sit for 30 minutes before baking. I also added pecans and brown sugar - amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I made this recipe for Christmas morning. I love the idea of the overnight casseroles, but my husband doesn't like them because they have too much "stuff". I halved the recipe and used a thick, cinammon bread and it came out perfect! Delicious - everyone loved it (husband, 4 year old and 18 months). Served it with fresh blueberries as well and that really was the perfect topper. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States