French Toast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
While not bad, I have to say, the amount of nutmeg is a bit off the charts! 1/4 tsp would have been MORE than sufficient. And WHATEVER you do, DON'T soak regular white sandwich bread, you won't be able to transfer it from the bowl to the pan. A quick dip should do the trick nicely. I don't reccomend this recipe very highly, I'll stick to eggs, sugar, vanilla, and a lil sprinkle of cinnamon. Perfect mix. Oh, and BTW, in case anyone didn't know already, nutmeg is REALLY expensive, thats why a lil goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I've never made french toast using brown sugar before, and boy have I been missing something. This recipe was delicious. I did substitute a tsp of vanilla for the nutmeg (not a big fan of nutmeg), but the brown sugar is definitely the deal maker. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Great french toast..I alway use french bread though, it makes all the difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I'll be honest, I didn't even READ the directions. I've made french toast before, so I just wanted to see what else besides egg and milk you could use. This was DELICIOUS!! Since I made it just for myself, I used 2 eggs, just under 1/4 cup milk, probably 1/2 tbl of brown sugar and two shakes of cinnamon (I didn't measure the milk, sugar, or cinnamon, just what seemed right). I didn't have any nutmeg, but it tasted great with a bit of maple sryup. Oh, I also cut two big slices of Chullah bread -mmMMMMmmm.... Will definitely be using these ingredients from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nevroth

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Perfect amount and very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I also cut out the nutmeg and added vanilla in place. I put the cinnamon in with the mixture instead of topping it off. Dont let the bread soak to long or the inside will get mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This recipe has WAY too much nutmeg. I would at least cut it down to 1/2 teaspoon or 1/4 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
i actually put 1/4 cup milk and 1/2 cup half n half - makes for a richer french toast. also, i tried adding orange zest from a whole orange and it really kicked up the flavor and my husband loooooved it! sometimes i add coconut extract too... but i always add vanilla extract to my french toast. this recipe made over 12 slices and i used big slices of french bread - not sure why people are getting less than 8 slices? leave out the nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Eggleston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This was sooooo good! The only thing I did differently was mix the cinnamon in with the egg mixture. This french toast didn't even need syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pelham, Georgia, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
The number of slices is too many for this recipe - it should be about 6. Type of brown sugar not specified (light/dark). Using regular granulated sugar would be better - less likely to burn. A tablespoon of cinnamon is too much. It just floated on top of the mixture and was soaked up by the first few slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

French Toast I

You can use virtually any kind of bread to make this easy French toast.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States