French Toast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ImagineThatLily
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This is a simple recipe. No fuss, no muss. I used to wing it every time I made French toast. They were never a hit...too much cinnamon, not sweet enough. I would never put brown sugar in French toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Made this, for my husband, two sons and a friend. Came out to 9 slices of Texas Toast. Only thing I did different was add the cinnamon to the egg batter, cause I was lazy about sprinkling on finished toasts. The out come was delish! Am going to use my recipe of French Toast. Same ingredients, but I like to dip each slice of bread in flour, shake extra flour off, then dip in egg mix. Toast comes out, not soggy at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciecarole
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This was quite tasty! I've used cinnamon with French Toast but never nutmeg. It gave it a nice extra dimension to the flavour. :) I did leave out the brown sugar as maple syrup makes things plenty sweet for me. One important thing: don't saturate these, that's asking for a soggy mess! Make these like you would any other French toast - quickly dip each side in the mix and cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I made this for my husband and I, we loved it. It went great with the Cinnamon Syrup I made to go with it. I will be repeating this recipe many more times because I know it will become my kids favorite Breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I didn't has any brown sugar or nutmeg but add white sugar and the ground cinnamon and it turn out to be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This was probably the best french toast I have ever made. My husband truly enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
It was ok, but the bread got too soggy. Overall, it was alright, not bad, bit not amazing either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This recipe wasn't the best, but I must say I really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Danyka Lanae Ramos
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
So simple and yet delicious. I added cinnamon butter in the mixture. Amazing. Will definitely try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danyka Lanae Ramos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This is just a simple recipe, and simple sometimes is best! If your family is fussy, leave out the nutmeg. Here is a note... ....Nutmeg contains small amounts of a drug called myristicin, which is chemically similar to mescaline, the active compound in peyote, and may be converted in the body to one of the related amphetamine-like psychedelics. Now back to the recipe....I let the slices of white bread "dry out" overnight so the bread is dry to the touch and it won't soak up as much egg mixture & get soggy or fall apart when picking it up out of the bowl. This also speeds up the cooking time since there is not as much egg to cook "in the bread" (A additional hint is to just use Cinnamon/Sugar mixture instead of adding brown sugar) Also for Diabetics use Spenda/Cinnamon mixture you can make right at home. Jim B.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbrown_14105

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

French Toast I

You can use virtually any kind of bread to make this easy French toast.

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States