French Toast I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
This is a great, simple recipe for french toast. If your using thicker bread or are soaking the bread for a while, I would suggest covering the griddle or pan with a lid. This will cook the inside of the bread, making it less soggy....I also prefer to use butter or margarine in the pan rather than oil, gives it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1349 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2002
I enjoyed this basic french toast recipe. However, make sure the pan is completely hot before frying, because otherwise it sticks bad and you end up with a mess on your hands - like I did. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
733 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
Great, classic french toast. I added all of the spices as suggested and enjoyed the taste, although I would probably use less nutmeg next time. I used the rest of a loaf of french bread that we had bought the night before, so that made it extra tastey. I also followed another reviewer's suggestion and covered the pan with a lid so the middle would also cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
509 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
YUM-O. This stuff is amazing. I have used several different kinds of breads and it all tastes amazing. My advice is to try to use a thicker bread just because the thinner stuff tends to get a little soggier. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2001
This recipie was very tasty... we ate it so fast that we all got stomach pains. But it took forever to cook. Is there a faster way... maybe we soaked the bread too much. Please respond. Thanks and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
Excellent recipe, quick and easy. It tastes great with whole wheat bread. Definitely one of the best ones I've tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
this french toast is full of flavour. My husband loved it and he is not a french toast fan in the first place. This will be a Sunday morning favourite!Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2001
Took way too long to cook. I had to add another egg to get a good consistency. Tasted bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Very tasty recipe. I added a tiny bit of ground cloves to it to zest it up. Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2001
Excellant, quick and delicious. Some adjustment of ingrediants may be required for personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 797) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States