French Toast I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Made this french toast this morning and it was great . I did add a teaspoon of brown sugar, just because I like to add brown sugar. I loved and my boyfriend went back to make him another slice. I will be adding this recipe to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dllee5202

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
We just finished eating this for brunch. It was easy, but the mix did not make enough to coat 6 regular pieces of bread, much less 6 thick pieces. Next time we will cook it on med. for a much longer time, as it was really soggy in the center. We did not add the nutmeg, and the vanilla gave it a chemically after taste. My 12 year old said, let's lessen the vanilla next time. (He actually made the recipe). We served it with home made raspberry syrup and powdered sugar and paired it with poached eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaverdam, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Very easy recipe. Remember to wait until pan before you put the toast on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Mommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Great basic recipe! I used margarine on the pan instead of oil and I skipped the salt. For me this is a key step. I laid my bread slices on a cookie sheet and lightly dusted them with cinnamon on one side because the spice will stay put in the crannies and provide an even coat of flavor. Seems to me when the spices are in the milk mixture they tend to sink to the bottom of the bowl, clump or run to the sides when you dunk the bread in. After I spiced the bread on a cookie sheet I poured the milk,egg and vanilla mixture over it then flipped them to coat. They cooked up nicely on my preheated double burner pan. No sticking with the margarine and they were not soagy at all. Saved to recipe box. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Awesome. I used Raisin bread, vanilla and cinnamon. Very yummy. Turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This is a great, simple French toast. Has the right combination of spices that I was looking for. I doubled the recipe and used a loaf of day old French bread sliced 1" thick. The bread did not fall apart at all despite being soaked overnight. Instead of cooking on stovetop, I preheated my oven to 400, left a seasoned baking stone in during preheat and tossed these onto the hot stone for 3 minutes. I turned them over and baked for another 3 minutes and they came out great. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Very soggy and very bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBMinx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made this recipe as it was written and it was terrific! Great flavor and simple ingredients that I already had. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I was craving something sweet and thought-- FRENCH TOAST! I've never made it before nor have I craved it after a great workout! bad idea, you say? Maybe, but I was on a mission to eat some.I followed recipe to the T. The first slice soaked up too much of the ooey goodness, so I figured the bread I used was just too poruous. I laid off the super soaking method so second slice came out great. My only other dilemma is I discovered I really h-a-t-e nutmeg...next time I'll omit this optional item, mhhh key word, right?! Live and learn. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This is a good recipe. It is simple to make and it uses ingredients that we always have in our kitchen. I thought the prescribed amount of nutmeg sounded like a little too much so I only used half the amount. The result was very tasty. Make sure you leave the toast on the griddle long enough to cook all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 783) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States