French Toast I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
This is the best recipe yet! I tried another French Toast recipe last time I made this, but it didn't have enough flavor. This one is great! The nutmeg adds a nice flavor and the soaking mixture wasn't too thick like the last time. I served it with powdered sugar, strawberries, and maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
add one more egg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Great basic recipe that I have been using regularly since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
So easy. I cut the recipe in half and got exactly three pieces from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I made this exactly as the recipe said and it was a soggy mess. There is way too much milk which makes the outside crispy and the inside soggy. Also very bland. Just tasted like a soggy piece of bread. I probably could have salvaged it by adding a couple more eggs but I didn't have time. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annelise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This was so easy to make. I used regular white bread and You can't let the bread soak because it'll fall apart. It was very good and my husband, who is very picky, loved it. The flavor pops in this recipe;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I've noticed a fee people complaining that it "took too long to make." To those who have that concern: The best food does take time! That said, this was absolutely amazing. I used some homemade bread, cut into thick slices. Absolutely amazing. Everyone loved it. The next time I make homemade bread, I'm definitely setting a big chunk aside to do his again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I had just made a white cake, so I had 4 egg yolks that I didn't want to go to waste. I had some french bread on hand too, and decided to try this recipe. I left the 4 yolks and didn't add any more eggs. It turned out excellent! I also found out that I was out of vanilla after I already mixed everything else together, and it was still very good. Definitely a keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This is a very easy recipe to scale down to one serving and makes a delicious, healthy breakfast, especially if you top it with unsweetened applesauce and cinnamon. (I used 1 egg, 3 T. skim milk, 1/8 tsp. cinnamon, 1/4 tsp. vanilla extract, and 2 slices of 40 calories-per-slice bread)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This is a good basic recipe. I leave it about 2 to 3 minutes on each side to cook after putting butter on the grill:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 786) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States