French Toast Corners Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
I haven't had French toast since I was a kid and I'd never thought of having it sweet. This was really nice - not too sweet or rich. I made it with bacon and maple syrup on top for a Valentine's breakfast and my boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
Simple easy recipe. The flavor is nothing out of the ordinary, but it gets an extra star because the small size is great for little ones as well as fun and easy. I didn't really make any changes to the recipe other than to use wheat bread rather than white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
I like to make this using Texas toast, a thicker piece of white bread. Up the vanilla just a tad and sprinkled some sugar in the mix before dipping the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
YUM. I love french toast. This recipe was very good, I love the concept of french toast "corners". I won't ever make it differently. No children in our household but the adults liked it too! I found that the batter wasn't enough for 6 pieces of the bread I used. I added another egg and some milk towards the end because I ran out. However it could have been the excessively large pieces of bread I was using. Also I didn't use white bread. I used a 7 grain bread. We don't eat white bread in our family, but it was fabulous. Served it up with a side of bacon. w00
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Principessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Loved the taste, was a bit "fiddly" Next time would probably just cut in half instead of quarters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldenwookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Summerland, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Metta Karuna
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
Today is my son's third birthday, so we made breakfast together. We decided to make this, and it was very good. I love how you cut the bread first. I am only giving it 4 stars because I cut the recipe in half, and didn't have enough egg batter to dip 3 pieces of bread. I was better off keeping the batter as is, and just cutting down on the bread. Thank you for sharing, the flavor was great and Mikey loved helping his Mommy make his birthday breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metta Karuna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
I made this for my toddler for breakfast. She liked it, and it was easy for her to pick the 4 pieces up off the tray to eat. I didn't even put a topping on it, they're good just plain! I'll make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
Use thick bread, it will keep it from getting to soggy and tasting like mush. I added an extra 1/4 tsp of cinnamon for our taste, 1/2 teaspon of nutmeg (great addition) and 1 1/2 tablespoons of brown sugar. Make sure u only cut bread in half, when cut in quarters was way to soggy. I melted some peach and strawberry perserves in a pan with butter and poured over the top, tasted wonderful...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
VERY CUTE RECIPE! My 3 year old loved them! It was a good early morning activity for us. Next time I will probably add just a tad more cinnamon though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint James, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States