French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Absolutely delicious - the perfect Christmas morning breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
LOved it! I agree w/the 9x13" pan and adding extra cinnamon and brown sugar. Excellent, easy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joyfantastic
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
As written, this recipe would barely make it to okay for my taste. I dislike eggs, so my french toast has to have a lot of spices. After adjusting it I love it, and would give it a 5. I used suggestions from many reviewers. I used the Pepperidge Farm Cinnamon Swirl. Due to my fear of ending up with a soft, squishy mess, I only used 4 eggs and 2 cups of milk. I also used a 9x13 aluminum pan that a sprayed with cooking spray. To the eggs and milk I added: 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1 tsp cinnamon, 2 tsp vanilla, 1/4 cup brown sugar, and 1/4 unsweetened shredded coconut. I let it sit overnight in the pan. Before popping it in the oven, I used a spatula to flip the bottom layers of bread to the top. I baked for 50 minutes as instructed and it had a perfect, firm consistency, with a bit of a crunch on top. It's just 2 of us, so we've been slicing pieces off and warming them in the microwave. I've been enjoying it as dessert without need of syrup or sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Prepared this last night but did change it up. I cut down eggs and milk as previous post had added 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 tsp cinn. This came out like Cinnabon casserole rather then French toast. I really liked it. If or when I make it again I will use regular bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashberry75

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmwood Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I made this casserole for guests on New Years Day! It was a huge hit. Made it exactly according to the recipe. Don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This recipe couldn't be simpler!! This was a wonderful casserole to share with family on Xmas morning!. Prepared it the night before, as directed, except added a little more cinnamon to the egg/milk batter. Also used a 13x9x2 pan. I think letting it sit overnight in the fridge really helps the bread soak up all the wet mixture, so you don't end up with a soggy mess. Next time, I will use the cinnamon raisin bread for a twist, and maybe even try the carmelized apples, nuts and brown sugar topping a few reviews suggested. Great casserole to prepare the night before, pop into the oven that morning and be able to enjoy your family and company :) If you want a terrific meat/cheese accompanyment for an over the top breakfast try the Hashbrown and Egg Casserole recipe here - my family went nuts with both these casseroles xmas morning!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiritedSadge

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Great Christmass dish we have a large family for breakfast and this is a hit every time. I use regular bread and cinnamon also add sugar for a little extra sweet. 6 teaspoons cinamon, 1 cup sugar to mix beat well then poured over bread. THis gives the flavor the pepperidge farms lacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
OK, so I tried this recipe last night. I used the exact amount of milk and bread and egg. I cooked it at exactly 350°. After 50 min's of cooking this messy soupy looking goop was not even close to being cooked. So I ended up cooking for it another 45 minutes just to get the middle somewhat not so runny. Maybe the 3qt dish was too thick? Or maybe the amount of liquids were too much. It seems like the recipe has way too much milk (others call for only 2 cups not three) and 4 eggs (not 6). I planned on making this for my work, we're doing a treat every Friday and this Friday is my turn. I am glad that I practiced over the weekend before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. No flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
It was veeeerrrryyy good. Both my kids liked it, and my son who won't eat pancakes or regular French toast had three helpings this morning! I used another reviewer's suggestion and reduced milk to 2 cups and added 1 box of cook and serve vanilla pudding. I sprinkled brown sugar and chopped pecans on top as well. It cooked up very nicely, had a great texture and consistency too. I'm excited to make it for when I have house guests as I hate spending so much time in the kitchen in the morning when I should be visiting:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States