French Spring Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
This was a great recipe. The only change I made was to the liquid. I used 50% chicken broth and 50% water. My guests would not stop eating it. Next time just this soup, bread and a jug of wine will be a hit. We loved it. Prep is everything. We made the soup up to the point prior to adding the cream and spinach. When the guests arrived and the time was right, we added the cream and spinach while re-heating, and served it. Wow...a hit. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
I give this 4 stars only because 5 stars is the ultimate. I do really like this soup though. I was unable to resist adding a clove of garlic when sauteing the vegetables and also threw in some sliced mushrooms. Like the other reviewer, I used chicken stock for 1/2 the liquid. Replacing the heavy cream with half-and-half didn't hurt the flavor at all. (Have to cut a few calories where you can.) I had never cooked with Leeks before and was a bit concerned about having an over-powering oniony flavor. Thats not a problem with this recipe. After simmering for 30 minutes, the many flavors combine and mellow nicely. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
I've made the soup twice and guests liked it very much. It has a lovely fresh flavor. I used water only and that worked fine for me. I'll certainly make it again. (I'd say the recipe serves six at most when you serve it with salad and bread only.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
I liked the variety of vegetables in this soup which made it sound healthy (if you don't look at the butter and heavy cream!) When I tasted it after it had cooked it definately needed some more flavoring, so I added chicken stock granules. Next time I make it I will use some stock cubes at the beginning and cut the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
This was very good. Like nice restaurant quality. My husband said it was out of this world. He's never said that before. I too used 1/2 chicken broth and 1/2 water, 3 cloves of garlic minced, and some sliced mushrooms. oh yeah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb Hilton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
Excellent soup! The only thing I would suggest is to add the asparagus when you add the spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
This soup was delightful! I used half the spinach called for because my soup kettle was getting a little full, but I don't think it took away from the flavour at all. I also used 50/50 stock and water and found it quite rich enough. I would cut back on the salt though, particularly if you are using prepared chicken stock. I'll be passing this recipe along to my friends and family, especially now that spring has arrived.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
This is a wonderful soup. My office raved, especially as the aroma wafted from my microwaved daily ration. I did substitute half-n-half for the heavy cream (and wonder if fat-free evap milk might work as well...). I also wonder if other veggies could work (zuchini? corn? peas?) Just don't omit the leeks .... they are, I suspect, the secret to the fabulous smell and taste. I was also intrigued by the fact that no seasoning, other than salt, appears in this recipe ... it's all veggie taste! Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
This was great. I used baby spinach and I think next time I will give it a quick chop so that it is more in proportion to the rest of the soup. I'll also cut the asparagus a little smaller. I would love to know if this would work with evaporated skim milk or something of the sort to cut out that evil cream! If anyone tries it, please post the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
I made this soup in about 45 minutes. It was a welcome spring treat. The kids even loved it, vegetables and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States