French Spring Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I give this only 3 stars as I made it exactly as described and it was only "edible" at best. The only thing different was that I had no asparagus so I omitted it, but I'm not sure how much that would have changed the outcome for me. This tasted like salty milk with cooked veggies. The kids wouldn't eat it. I plan to try this again, but will DEFINITELY use broth instead of water. I felt the need for it while making it as the veggies were swimming in salt water, but really wanted to be true to the recipe my first time out. I really think that will be the "make it" or "break it" for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Took me significantly longer to chop the vegetables. I did not add the garlic that other reviewers suggested but did use half chicken broth. Needs something. I tried adding cheese in the bowls but that's not it. The next day slightly improved as others have noted. Maybe adding slightly less water and a can of cream of asparagus soup would help?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I love veg soups and have been on an asparagus kick, so this one looked interesting. I used 2% milk in place of the heavy cream, which may have made a difference in taste, and used veggie broth instead of plain water. I also used a sweet Vidalia onion instead of leeks, and added a handful of baby bella mushrooms. I saved the asparagus tips for the end of cooking so they wouldn't get mushy. However, I think it needed more seasoning. Maybe garlic, seasoned salt, etc? Worth keeping and experimenting . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I made this yesterday four our Sunday soup lunch. As we are only 2 people, I used only about half of the ingredients. Instead of water I used vegetable broth and what I got was fantastic fingerlicking good. My wife also was excited about the taste of it. And it's ready within a short time. I definetely make this again. Thanks to Sanzoe for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zurich, Zurich, Switzerland
Living In: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
My family loved this soup. I will definately be making this again. I added some ham for my son (he's very picky and liked the soup without asparagus, spinach, and leeks...he didn't realize there was onions too :) ). I'll probably reduce the salt next time too. It tastes even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Ohio, USA
Living In: De Graff, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This is a great recipe. I have been using it for years. Word for word, from the NY Times cook book. It has been a staple in my house. For it ease and the beautiful aroma the soup breings to the house on cool spring day. The only thing I've changed was to add Veggi Cubes to the plain water, and at times use wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
yummy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This soup is amazing! And I'm terrible at cooking soups. Made a few modifications, like adding garlic to the onions & leeks. Used whole wheat couscous instead of rice as I didn't have any rice. And really wished I would have chopped up my spinach cause the leaves are very large and tend to clump together. But amazing all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Yum! A vegetarian's dream. It's a very good use of the spring veggies.I followed the recipe exactly except for substituting half and half. If you are veg, but don't do dairy, rice milk would probably be okay. The potatoes help keep it thick. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sanzoe
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This is a fairly good soup but more of a base. It is lacking in flavor. I made as is to give it a fair chance and after tasting ended up adding garlic and some other seasoning blends I had on hand. If I make it again I will use chicken broth instead of the plain water I also might admit the cream since it didn't add anything to it in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanzoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States