French Spring Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This was great! Love it for anytime but it is a GREAT spring soup. It is awesome exactly as the recipe instructs it to be made. I substituted vegetarian chicken broth. Other then the vegitarian substitution the first time I made it I thought I had heavy cream in the house but when it came time to add it I found out I did not, so I substituted Cream Cheese (the 1/3 less fat kind). It was very good that way. My husband said he liked it even more when he found out it was low in fat. The way with the cream is also delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prince Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Tasted great! I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of using beef broth (cubes) instead of plain water, adding fat-free half & half instead of heavy cream, and added garlic when cooking the onion/leek. With a little extra salt, it tasted absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Great soup. Use creme fraiche instead of cream and vegetable stock rather then chicken stock so that vegetarians can enjoy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
We're giving it 5 stars as we added made some VERY healthy changes thus making it completely GUILT FREE! Okay: omit the cream, omit the butter...not needed. Saute the leeks in extra virgin Olive oil and you're good to go. Make ALL water chicken stock (we used veggie chicken stock - amazing and a lot less sodium!) No extra salt needed, but add some black pepper for some zip. Thank you Papergoddess for a great recipe! We're full, we're happy and can't wait to have the leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
YUM!!! This is a great soup recipe! I added a little garlic and black pepper, and I also had to use broccoli instead of asparagus since that is what I had. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnutty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Great soup! I used chicken broth for half the water and felt it needed more salt in the end. All my guests raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A time to eat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as written and give it 5 stars. It's always nice to 'improve' any soup by adding chicken broth and garlic but this is meant to be how it is. The taste of the fresh asparagus is so nicely enhanced by the butter and leeks. This is a subtle dish but heavenly. Absolutely, a perfect Spring Soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by betsy0504

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
very good but definately is missing something, I made it exactly as written. however I did find that garlic was the missing ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Top notch, just as it is. My husband (2nd time around) used to be married to a gourmet cook, so he's used to terrific dishes. I hate cooking, but I can read and follow a recipe. :) We both loved this soup. A LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This is a nice vegetable soup that's fairly easy to make. I made a few minor changes: subbed coconut milk for cream, quinoa for rice, and olive oil for butter, and per other reviews I used broth (veg) instead of water. Next time, I'll add more asparagus; it added a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States