French Spring Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I'm not sure why this soup didn't have more flavor. I substituted most of the water with chicken broth and added garlic to the onion and leeks. I didn't add any rice since the potato was starch enough. It tasted okay just not worth trying again, although plenty healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Made this for my group of college students, without the asparagus, because there was none in season and I didn't want to use canned. It's just as well that I didn't, though, because this was really thick, despite using extra broth on top of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Awesome soup! I followed others advice and used 1/2 water and 1/2 chicken stock and also added some garlic to the onions and leeks. I made it for a soup party and it was a big hit!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This was pretty darn tasty. I usually don't rate a recipe unless I've made it exactly as written, but I think this one was fine as is, but better with some of the recommendations. I started out adding a clove of minced fresh garlic to the onion and leeks. I also sauteed in 1/2 butter and 1/2 Italian olive oil. Using vegetable broth instead of plain water, I added all the fresh veggies I had which was everything called for plus green beans, mushrooms, cauliflower and broccoli. I started the carrots, potatoes and rice first for 15 minutes. I used a short grain rice and put in more than was called for. After the 15 minutes, I started adding in the other veggies in order of most dense to least dense. I used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of heavy cream. After I added the spinach, I turned off the heat and the spinach wilted without further cooking. After it was done, it seemed to be missing something so I added a squeeze of fresh lemon juice to brighten it up and a teaspoon of dry mustard. This is a hit and it will be one of my "go to" soups this winter. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConstanceCooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This was great! Love it for anytime but it is a GREAT spring soup. It is awesome exactly as the recipe instructs it to be made. I substituted vegetarian chicken broth. Other then the vegitarian substitution the first time I made it I thought I had heavy cream in the house but when it came time to add it I found out I did not, so I substituted Cream Cheese (the 1/3 less fat kind). It was very good that way. My husband said he liked it even more when he found out it was low in fat. The way with the cream is also delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prince Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Tasted great! I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception of using beef broth (cubes) instead of plain water, adding fat-free half & half instead of heavy cream, and added garlic when cooking the onion/leek. With a little extra salt, it tasted absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Great soup. Use creme fraiche instead of cream and vegetable stock rather then chicken stock so that vegetarians can enjoy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
We're giving it 5 stars as we added made some VERY healthy changes thus making it completely GUILT FREE! Okay: omit the cream, omit the butter...not needed. Saute the leeks in extra virgin Olive oil and you're good to go. Make ALL water chicken stock (we used veggie chicken stock - amazing and a lot less sodium!) No extra salt needed, but add some black pepper for some zip. Thank you Papergoddess for a great recipe! We're full, we're happy and can't wait to have the leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
YUM!!! This is a great soup recipe! I added a little garlic and black pepper, and I also had to use broccoli instead of asparagus since that is what I had. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnutty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Great soup! I used chicken broth for half the water and felt it needed more salt in the end. All my guests raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A time to eat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States