French Spring Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
wonderful spring time soup! rich and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Delightful soup. Helped use up good groceries before going out of town for Mothers Day weekend. Vegatable stock in freezer was the base, used less than 1/2 tsp of salt, but added 2 cloves of garlic when sweating the onions. Added a drop of Red Hot & a sprinkle of Montreal Chix seasoning just before serving. Used about 1/4 cup of 1/2 & 1/2--just enough to for a light finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ren

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This was YUMMY! I made a couple of changes as other users did: 16 oz of water and 16 oz of chicken broth. I added 3 large cloves of garlic and chopped the spinach prior to adding it. I allowed it to simmer to close to 40 minutes then added the cream and spinach. I added a loaf of Rosemary herb bread on the side and it was to die for. This one will be made again and again. We froze the leftovers, hoping they are as good the second time around! BRAVO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLORA33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremont, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Fantastic soup. Like others, I switched out the water for chicken stock. The blend of flavors was subtle and balanced and so flavorful that I did not add any salt...it didn't need it. Making it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EileenGray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Lighthouse Point, Florida, USA
Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Half my family liked this and the other half didn't. Most didn't like it because of the cream broth. I did like this. The flavor blended well. It was a great way to get the veggies in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This was delicious!!! I did add some chicken boullion to the water when it started to boil. I didn't have a whole bunch of spinach so I added some kale as well. Next time I might do without the rice though, it just seemed unneeded. This makes a bunch so be prepared for left overs! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I was shocked to read how many cooks substituted onions for leeks. These vegetables are not interchangable in French cooking. Only changes were broth over water, whole milk instead of cream, added mushrooms as suggested because it sounded great and 1/2'd the spinach because I felt there was plenty going on already with flavor. It isn't a super spicy dish, but actually quite light for a creamy soup. Served with a grilled steak salad and rustic bread. Only 4 stars because of all the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
After reading some of the other reviews, I subbed chicken broth for the water, to reduce the fat, I subbed half and half for the cream. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly as written, and it was a winner...really very delicious. I tasted like a restaurant-quality dish and looked with it as well when garnished with grated cheese and a sprinkle of fresh herbs. My fiancee and children loved it too. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I'm not sure why this soup didn't have more flavor. I substituted most of the water with chicken broth and added garlic to the onion and leeks. I didn't add any rice since the potato was starch enough. It tasted okay just not worth trying again, although plenty healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Made this for my group of college students, without the asparagus, because there was none in season and I didn't want to use canned. It's just as well that I didn't, though, because this was really thick, despite using extra broth on top of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States