French Spring Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This was an absolutely delicious soup and a breeze to make. I followed the recipe pretty closely but added some black pepper. Both my husband and I loved it well enough for a repeat performance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PieGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MarieM
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Really good and SO healthy! I added 1 qt. organic chicken broth. Goes great with Irish Brown Bread recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Oyster Bay, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Great soup on this beautiful Spring day. After reading other reviews, I too, used chicken broth (3 cans plus about 1 cup of concentrated stock I made myself) along with 2 cups of water. I added 2 teaspoons of jarred minced garlic to the leek and onion sautee. Followed the rest of the recipe as written until the end where I used half and half rather than heavy cream and added a few sprigs of fresh rosemary and a fresh bayleaf. I also added some leftover cooked chicken. Can't say this was lacking flavor at all. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Seemed very bland - I replaced half of the water with chicken stock, added about a half tsp of freshly shredded ginger, 1/2 tsp of tarragon and planed a half clove of garlic into it, also added pepper. Earlier reviews say this gets more flavorful after it sits, so we'll see if I overdid it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Man is this good. I just had surgery and my mom made this(sauce the recipe on the fridge) Hit the spot. She said she made as is but admitted to adding a little garlic powder. I Think it was even better the next day. Makes alot of soup and it is hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I just made this soup for the first time and it was amazing. Creamy without feeling heavy, it really hit the spot. Like other reviewers, I mixed 1/2 water and 1/2 chicken broth for the liquid element. You could easily use all chicken broth or vegetable broth to the same effect. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Delicious, I used 1/2 water and 1/2 chicken broth and decreased my salt to 2 teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This recipe makes a colorful bowl of soup, but it's just not that flavorful. As suggested by others, I used chicken broth in place of the water and added some garlic. After tasting it, I added a Fines Herbes blend (thyme, oregano, sage, rosemary, parsley). The soup did not thicken despite having both potatoes and rice. I would recommend using just one starch, potatoes, and adding extra potatoes to thicken if possible. I did not add the full half pound of spinach...I just stopped when it seemed about right. This makes a large pot of soup, and unfortunately, no one is too excited about the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This is a great recipe, and very flexible. I halved the recipe, doubled the onion because I did not have any leeks, added three cloves of roasted garlic, replaced asparagus with green beans(again, what I had on hand), used broth in place of the water(and reduced the salt to compensate), and had to use whole milk in place of cream. Even with all these changes it was delicious and I will be making this soup often. I'm sure as written is great too, and will hopefully try it that way when I make it next. Just wanted to say it's very versatile and thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fanciful Unicorn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Great combo-- Rather than garlic or mushrooms I added bayleaf(very French) and I had arborio rice on hand and of course the broth for flavor-- thanks for a great soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States