French Silk Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This really does taste like French Silk Pie! I was both surprised and impressed! (And I couldn't stop tasting it, telling myself I had to make sure it was sweet enough, chocolatey enough, the proper consistency, etc., etc...yeah, right) It is light, fluffy, and mildly chocolate - just like French Silk Pie! It spreads like a dream and makes the cake look like you just have to dive right in for a piece. Wanting to make sure I had enough to amply frost a layer cake I scaled the recipe to 18 servings and it was just the right amount. Using pre-melted unsweetened chocolate in the envelopes made this a snap to make quickly. Didn't have milk but I had cream leftover from "Whipped Cream Cake II" and it worked well. Awesome good frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
THIS IS THE BEST, BEST, BEST FROSTING!!!! There need be NO other chocolate frosting recipes after this one! Also, it is TOO easy to be so smooth and delicious ! Most chocolate frosting recipes are too thick and heavy, but this is very close to the flavor and texture of French Silk Pie! I LOVE THIS FROSTING! It frosted and filled my 8 inch layer cake well and I added just a splash more milk...I might double it for a 9 inch layer cake cause it's SOOOO GOOD!! Truly, outstanding...light and chocolaty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This is really tasty, first time for me making frosting so I think it came out really well. I didn't have bakers chocolate so i used baking cocoa and added more milk... didn't hurt the frosting at all. very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This is my family's all-time favorite frosting! This was my first time making it....my mom always frosts our birthday cakes with this, and my son asked me to make a yellow cake using this frosting. I couldn't find the recipe....I don't have the old Betty Crocker book that my mom has, so I was thrilled to find it here! It turned out great on my Bonnie Butter Cake. I too, had to add about 3 TBS more milk...I made a batch and a half for a 9" layer cake...my boys LOVE frosting :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I've been making FRENCH SILK FROSTING for over 40 YEARS since the recipe came out in 1964 in Betty Crocker's "FESTIVE FIXINS WITH A FOREIGN FLAIR" and below is the ORIGINAL RECIPE, which will make you flush the one given here down the toilet! It is better than sex! 4 CUPS SIFTED POWDERED SUGAR 1 CUP SOFTENED BUTTER (OR MARGARINE) 1 EGG 3 SQUARES BAKERS UNSWEETENED CHOCOLATE, MELTED & COOLED (MAY ALSO USE 3 PACKETS OF REDI-BLEND CHOCOLATE) 1 TSP VANILLA EXTRACT BEAT ALL INGREDIENTS UNTIL LIGHT AND FLUFFY AND SPREAD ON COOLED CAKE. YIELD FROSTING FOR 2- 9 INCH LAYERS. ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PastryChefNYC

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
Recipe was fairly simple to make but it was a bit dry. I would suggest adding a splash more milk. The taste got rave reviews though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Great with black magic cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
YUMMY! Just t o sub 3 tbsp. of b. cocoa for the melted chocolate but it is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany Burgess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Excellent! It came out great even though I had to substitute cocoa powder for baking chocolate. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissEisbar

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Just give me a spoon...I'll eat it right out of the bowl! So very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States