French Silk Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Great with black magic cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I liked this, I think next time I might add a tablespoon or two of cocoa but it was good texture I really liked. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I've made this recipe at least half dozen times to top cupcakes, and it always comes out great, and I get rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This really does taste like French Silk Pie! I was both surprised and impressed! (And I couldn't stop tasting it, telling myself I had to make sure it was sweet enough, chocolatey enough, the proper consistency, etc., etc...yeah, right) It is light, fluffy, and mildly chocolate - just like French Silk Pie! It spreads like a dream and makes the cake look like you just have to dive right in for a piece. Wanting to make sure I had enough to amply frost a layer cake I scaled the recipe to 18 servings and it was just the right amount. Using pre-melted unsweetened chocolate in the envelopes made this a snap to make quickly. Didn't have milk but I had cream leftover from "Whipped Cream Cake II" and it worked well. Awesome good frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I am not a fan of buttercream frostings BUT this recipe is amazing! The texture is smooth and silky and it is not too sweet. I added 1 tbl. of heavy whipping cream to 2 tbl. of milk. I also added 1 tbl. of espresso coffee to my melted chocolate. Perfect for cupcakes. P.S. Make sure you use a good quality butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was very easy to make and came out nice and light, as promised. Slightly bland, oily aftertaste, though (hence the four stars)-- maybe next time I'll try almond extract instead of vanilla, to give it a little bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I've been making FRENCH SILK FROSTING for over 40 YEARS since the recipe came out in 1964 in Betty Crocker's "FESTIVE FIXINS WITH A FOREIGN FLAIR" and below is the ORIGINAL RECIPE, which will make you flush the one given here down the toilet! It is better than sex! 4 CUPS SIFTED POWDERED SUGAR 1 CUP SOFTENED BUTTER (OR MARGARINE) 1 EGG 3 SQUARES BAKERS UNSWEETENED CHOCOLATE, MELTED & COOLED (MAY ALSO USE 3 PACKETS OF REDI-BLEND CHOCOLATE) 1 TSP VANILLA EXTRACT BEAT ALL INGREDIENTS UNTIL LIGHT AND FLUFFY AND SPREAD ON COOLED CAKE. YIELD FROSTING FOR 2- 9 INCH LAYERS. ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PastryChefNYC

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kat
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This frosting is amazing. I use it on the majority of the cakes I make, and everyone who tries it is endlessly complimenting it and asking for the recipe. On top of that- it's easy, light, and done quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I loved this recipe & so did everyone else. I topped the old fashioned fudge cookies I made from a recipe I found on here. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pancakegirl1022
Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
This does taste like a french silk pie! Very good. Next time, I'd cut back just a bit on the sugar though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States