French Silk Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
The longer you beat this the fluffier it gets. I usually beat the butter and sugar until fluffy then add the rest of the ingredients and keep beating it until really fluffy! I have also used white chocolate for white frosting. This is my go to recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I tried this frosting and I loved it. I have been looking for a light colored chocolate frosting and I finally found it with this one, I made a cake and used this frosting and it was a hit!! Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Fabulous, easy frosting. I did not have unsweetened chocolate so I used two squares of dark (54% cacao) chocolate to delicious results. My only caveat was that this did not seem to me to be quite enough to frost a whole cake (two layers, frosting between the layers), but that might only be because it was so scrumptious I spread it too thickly. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
YUMMY! Just t o sub 3 tbsp. of b. cocoa for the melted chocolate but it is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany Burgess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Wow!!! Just finished making it 5 min ago & son & daughter are licking the bowl & spoons. Very light - like bakery style. I did take the suggestions of others & increased the serving size to 18. Glad I did. Extremely yummy & will now be my go to chocolate frosting. BTW I didn't have chocolate squares so I used 1 ounce of cocoa instead. Again, light texture & yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I've made this a few times and it is a huge hit. I used melted chocolate chips and it worked just great. So light and fluffy, especially since I whipped it. Thanks for the terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
light, airy, perfect faint chocolate flavor. Spread on Black Magic Cake from this site and it was a hit. Cant wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan Jean Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Nebraska City, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Great! I would make 1 and 1/2 of this recipe next time and was easy to make without a mixer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I'm not a big fan of a lot of chocolate but this frosting had just the right amount. I made it even better by adding a couple heaping Tablespoons of peanut butter in with the melted chocolate. Used it to frost the Chocolate Cake ll from this site. Extra yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I made this exactly as written and it was absolutely divine! I did increase the ingredients by half so as to have enough to frost the cake after reading some of the other reviews. I had just a little left over, but it was quickly devoured by my husband and daughter, who both sat in the floor like two small kids with a spoon in their hands and took turns taking bites of the leftovers. Excellent frosting with a truly wonderful taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States