French Silk Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Wow!!!! This was absolutly amazing! I was a bit worried while making this that it wasn't going to turn out, because upon tasting it it tasted grainy. After adding the eggs this was much better. I used a pre-made Keebler shortbread pie crust. I didn't have any chocolate squares, so I melted 1 tbsp shortening with 3 tbsp cocoa for each oz. of chocolate. Update 1/22/12, I have made this pie several times and it is always amazing. I recently made it again and used egg substitute and it ruined my pie! They would not blend into the rest of the ingredients and it turned my filling into a cottage cheese like filling, wound up throwing it out! From here on out I will always use real eggs!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This recipe is ridiculously easy and is pure heaven! My mom and I always get a slice of French Silk pie at Baker's Square on our Christmas shopping trip and started to look for a similar recipe and this is probably the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This was soooo good. It literally melted in your mouth. I will definately be making this again. I did not bake the pie as the recipe states, I just mixed and chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Volker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Great recipe! I too did this with raw eggs and everything seemed to work out just fine. I was just very careful with watching my temperatures. The kids loved this one too. I'll be making this again for sure! Ok, made this again, and this time I reduced the sugar by 1/4 cup (to 3/4 cup instead of 1 cup), and it came out even better. My daughter said the first go, at full sugar, was too sweet. I cut it back and it still got raves. I'll have to try it at 1/2 cup and see what that does. Still an excellent pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvin Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
GREAT Pie - great taste, so good. My 3 boys and my husband ate one whole pie by themselves over Thanksgiving. Didn't change a thing other than decorating the top a bit different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimball, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waverly, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This pie is absolutely the best! I just made it for Thanksgiving and everyone raved about it. I didn't change a thing....a real keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
The pie was easy to make at face value, however I made two and the first one didn't set and was rather runny. The second one set well and I had no problems. It was very tasty for those who love chocolate, however it was a little too sweet for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JWhite

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
OMG! I loved it. Tho' it seems to be more like a Swiss buttercream recipe. :D Whatev'. I ended up doubling the recipe (fit fine in a 5qt Kitchen Aid w/ a paddle) added two more squares (wasn't going to use them for anything else so why not?) and left one pie plain and added peppermint oil to the other both, w/ an Oreo crust. So tasty. Tho' the recipe made quite a bit of filling for two little ol' 9 inches. All most overflowing. But whatev'. Hehe. More for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This is the same recipe that I used to make when I worked at Country Kitchen. It is the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Ohhhhhhhh, decadence. A mile-high version of the traditional French Silk Pie (see other recipe on this site). It seems to be updated, calling for pasteurized eggs or egg substitute, but I'm not intimidated by raw eggs, so I just used four fresh, large eggs (and lived to tell about it without incident). As you beat it, it gets fluffier and fluffier, as well as lighter in color. For color and taste I thought an Oreo cookie crust might be even better, so I made a crust of 24 regular-size Oreo cookies and 1/4 cup melted butter. Had I used a traditional pie crust I might have liked this with one more square of melted chocolate. Very rich, so cut slices accordingly. This is most likely why the French Silk Pie recipe I'm used to calls for half this amount of filling (and then of course you bury it under a couple inches of whipped cream). I garnished this with fresh whipped cream, raspberries, and mini chocolate chips. And as it turned out, I found I actually do prefer the pie with the Oreo crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States