French Silk Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
There are no words to describe this incredible pie! I have had several French Silk Pies in my life but none of them compare to this one. The texture is incredible and the taste divine... and I'm not even a chocolate person! TIPS: 1. CRUST- I used a store-bought, pre-made, non-refrigerated chocolate pie crust (not Oreo). It was an excellent choice and added a great taste and texture. 2. MEASUREMENTS- Make sure to only fill the pie 1/2 or 3/4 at the most with the mousse. The rest will be whipped cream, which balances the richness of the mousse. Apply the whipped cream right before serving. I sprinkled milk chocolate chips on the top. 3. I HIGHLY recommend filling both pie crusts with the mousse right away and not leaving any extra mousse in the bowl to refrigerate overnight. I made the mistake of only filling 1 pie and then leaving the rest of the mousse for a second pie the next day and the texture was TOTALLY different. Once you fill the pie with the mousse, it's fine to refrigerate the pie and cover with foil. You just don't want to refrigerate only the mousse in a bowl overnight. The texture becomes much more dense and not as decadent. The texture is 50% of what makes this pie so amazing, so I highly recommend taking this particular piece of advice. I think everyone who's considering making this recipe absolutely should. You'll be so glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This tasted great and was very authentic except for the color. It wasn't as dark brown as I was expecting (as is normal), nor as dark as the picture. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Glynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Wow! Absolutely amazing! The directions were easy to follow and yielded a very silky, smooth pie. I made it for my husband's birthday and he LOVED it. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This is wonderful. Made it for the first time last night, left it in the refrigerator overnight and had it for lunch today. I used real butter and a store bought Oreo crust and beat it for a long time. It came out perfect, very smooth and creamy. Worth the mixer time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Our family always has a french silk pie for every holiday. When my sister and I dropped the ball on buying on we decided to make one. This recipe made a GREAT pie! So delicious. Just the right amount of richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
So simple but so delicious! No modifications needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
A really great pie! It was the first pie tin to be emptied and everyone wanted another piece. The only thing I would do differently next time is to add more than 3 oz of the chocolate to the filling, it was good, but not quite as chocolatey as I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I too accidently used margarine on the first pie, did not turn out very well at all, very soupy! Made again with real butter and this pie was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was completely delicious! Although I didn't realize until I was almost done making it that is calls for raw egg. I guess I could have done something about that, but no bother. One important substitution was subbing the pie crust for a chocolate graham cracker crusts, super good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Loved it! Only suggestion would be to separate the eggs, blending in the yolks as called for but whipping up the whites then gently folding them in for increased volume.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GeneralTso77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States