French Silk Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Easy to make, and quite delicious. It is rich, and I wanted it with coffee or milk. Very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Best French silk pie ever!! make sure to beat well, I think my total beating time was 16 min!! After the eggs that is!! Very good recipe, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This was a really good silk pie recipe. It's very rich and tasty. The amount of filling was perfect for 1 pie, and I followed the directions exactly for whipping time. The only complaint I have is that it would be much better with a graham cracker or cookie crust instead of regular pie shell. I'll try it that way next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Sutton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by squarepear
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
SUPER DUPER GOOD! And not too rich. Took the advice of other reviewers and only used 3/4 cup sugar. Everything else was exact. Beat it with my Kitchenaid and it turned out fantastic. I was worried the sugar wasn't going to mix in and it would be grainy, but after the 3rd egg, it was good. I used organic evaporated cane sugar, and sometimes that seems coarser than white sugar. Also used Ghiradelli chocolate. I made this for my chocaholic 4 year old's bday and she dug in and looked like she was in heaven! Will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squarepear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ingalls, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This pie was delicious made with semi-sweet chocolate chips, Splenda & Egg Beaters. To do it my way, measure a cup of cold water into a 2 cup measure, add butter to the 2 cup mark, pour off the water, & zap it. I accidentally melted the butter instead of softening it & I had no chocolate squares, so used chocolate chips (a little less than a cup to add more chocolate flavor). Add a little of the melted butter & zap to melt the chips. (If I make the pie this way again, I'll experiment with melting all the butter & the chocolate chips together & then adding them to the sugar/Splenda.) Let this cool while mixing the "butter/sugar". I used Splenda, a bit less than the sugar the recipe calls for, put it & the butter into the mixer bowl & whipped 'til frothy. Add the chocolate chips to the butter/sugar mixture, then add a cup of egg substitute, 1/2 cup at a time, mixing well after each addition, then add the vanilla & whip the mixture to soft peaks. I thought it needed more chocolate, so measured out another almost-full cup of chips & a little whip cream, preparatory to zapping them so I could add them to the mix, but when I turned around, the mixture had already started to set up! I poured it into the pie shell, and made a ganache* out of the additional chips. I spread this on the top of the pie, refrigerated for several hours, then topped with whipped cream. Wonderful! * See Chocolate Ganache by IngrideVogel on this site for a proper way to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1st Grambo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carpio, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This was perfect - creamy chocolate and whipped cream deliciousness! I used a graham cracker pie crust, and it was amazing. I've made this recipe a couple of times, and the last time I used Earth Balance Buttery Spread instead of butter (wasn't trying to make a statement, I was just out of butter), and I wouldn't recommend it. Made it too salty or something. Light butter seems to work out well, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I have made this pie twice and it was perfect both times. It is like eating a chocolate cloud. So rich and chocolaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I have made this several times. It is one of my husband's very favorite desserts. I have tried it with a rolled out crust and with crumb crust and by far a chocolate cookie crust is best with this recipe. I was amazed that this recipe didn't get all 5 stars. It is smooth, silky and beyond description delicious. I read the reviews here and on the Pillsbury site and I think the problems come from substituting ingredients and from not following the order exactly. Never use margarine and never use egg substitutes. The chemistry won't work if you make substitutions. Egg substitutes don't have yolks in them. Yolks act as emulsifiers and yolks are what turn the granulated sugar into spun silk. I also suspect that people aren't beating the mixture for a full 2 minutes between each egg which adds up to whole 8 minutes of beating. I use my Kitchen Aid mixer and a timer. I scrape my bowl down after each egg and after 2 eggs I take the beater out and carefully scraped down the bowl even more throughly. It is the beating along with those yolks that make this pie perfectly silky. If the filling is gritty then you probably didn't beat the batter enough between adding eggs enough or you substituted ingredients. I used pasteurized shell eggs as suggested. That is not the same as egg beaters! You need real shell eggs not anything from a carton. If you can't find them, I maintain that it is better to wash and dry your eggs because the contaminates are on the shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Needed another chocolate square for a richer taste. Good otherwise. can substitute cool whip for topping. Made WAY too much for a 9" pie. Had nearly enough filling for a whole second one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
It didn't quite turn out like the picture - light in colour and fluffy, but it tasted alright. I doubled the chocolate but it was still too mild in flavour. I neglected to lessen the sugar and it was so sweet that I had to add extra whipped cream to make it edible - kinda hurt my teeth! Definitely do 1/2 cup of sugar. The recipe also makes 1.5 pie shells worth so I will either do less next time or do some tarts too. I would 4x the chocolate and half the sugar and see how that goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States