French Silk Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I used to frequent a place called "Baker's Square" that made the most amazing French Silk Pies, so when they closed down all their shops I was in serious withdrawal. I always told myself that I would find a recipe that was just as good. While I can't say this recipe is a copycat because really the flavor depends on the type/brand of chocolate you use (I used Sees semisweet chocolate) omg it turned out absolutely amazing. I used only 1/2 cup of butter which was an accident though a fortunate one after reading some of the reviews. It still tasted buttery and atop of a flaky butter crust it was the perfect amount of flavor. I also used pasteurized egg product because I have several small children in the house, and had no immediate resources for pasteurized eggs themselves. You can't even tell! Make sure your tools are cold when trying to beat the finished product, if its too warm (like my California house in the summer) stick the mixing bowl with the pie filling in the freezer for about 20 minutes and try again, mine whipped up beautifully then after sitting in the fridge overnight was perfectly fluffy. Amazing. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Fregoso

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
This pie is so rich and decadent; I love it! I only used 3 eggs and it was still very fluffy. I beat for more than 2 minutes after each egg but I still couldn't escape the grittiness of the sugar. I also put it in a chocolate pie crust I made from a Chocolate Cookery cookbook. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kel7298
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This is my go to French Silk Pie recipe. I have made it using either a regular pastry crust and graham cracker crust. Both are divine and a personal preference based on what you want. Don't be afraid to whip it. I usually whip at least 3 min between eggs. If you notice the pre egg mixture is warm refrigerate for a few minutes prior to adding the eggs. The filling will be fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Just keep whipping. Just keep whipping. Oh my, I thought I had ruined this. I was using 1/2 dark sweet choc and 1/2 milk choc chips so reduced the sugar to 1/4 c. I also added the vanilla to the butter first by mistake and had the cottage cheese appearance even with the 5 minute beat between the eggs. So I just left it whipping for about 20 minutes more and voila, it is perfect. Don't give up, just keep whipping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrammaBeni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Tekoa, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I decided to make a chocolate pie one day and came across this recipe. It came out perfect and was gone in a day. My whole family loved this pie. It has been a request every time I say i will make a pie. So far we have made 6 of them and I have made the recipes as directed and never had a problem with it at all. Would rate it higher in stars but I just can't do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This recipe absolutely exceeded my expectations! It was decadently delicious and so very easy to make. My family loved it. I used a pre-made chocolate cookie crust and Hershey's chocolate curls on top. The only downside was that,unfortunately, I did have some trouble finding the pasteurized eggs in our grocery stores when I needed them. This recipe will likely become a Valentine's Day tradition around our house. I would rename it "Chocolate Truffle Pie" in honor of the filling's amazing texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
My family loved this. They asked that next time I make it with a graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
My wife's new FAVORITE chocolate pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
After taking this pie to a party, I was told I wasn't allowed to come over again unless I bring another pie! It was that good! I used an Oreo crust, but it would be just as delicious in a regular crust (it was very sweet in the Oreo crust). I am just about to make another one right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This pie is always a hit at family gatherings and celebrations. Smooth, rich, and chocolaty; and so easy to make. Just be sure to beat at least 2 minutes between each "egg".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States