French Silk Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Amazingly rich with an awesome texture. I made for Easter and my family was raving about how great it was and how it was better than Bakers Square!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
My great-niece said it all when she tasted this on Easter Sunday, first she hit a heavenly note, then she said, "This is heavenly!" Everyone agreed that we needed to add this recipe to our family's favorites collection. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I have made this pie so many times that I don't have to check the recipe anymore. It is the family favorite. I have perfected it in a few ways for our family. Firstly, I use a homemade graham cracker crust instead of the baked pie crust (store bought works, too, but homemade is better - I use graham cracker crust I from this website). Secondly, I use homemade whipped cream. It's so easy and so much better. Just beat heavy whipping cream until it gets stiff and add a teaspoon of vanilla and a couple tablespoons of confectioner's sugar (depending on how sweet you want it). This pie doesn't last more than 24 hours in my house every time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This pie rawks. I followed the recipe exactly, except I made a my own crust (but then anything tastes great in one of my world rocking crusts). I also used non pasteurized eggs, and was a little nervous, but we all lived to tell about it. My wife now thinks I'm a Jedi Master in the kitchen also. I hope she never finds out how easy this recipe is. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BG Smooth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburg, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This is a regular family request. I use egg product in place of eggs. As others have said, make sure to whip the heck between eggs. At least 2 min between. (I use thirds with the egg product.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
One of my favorite pies! EVER!!! I made it three times in 2 months and it came out perfect both times. I made it a fourth time a couple months later, and had just gotten my electric stand mixer, but this time it didn't set. So I made it again, that same day, and it still didn't set. I gave up and ate it like pudding pie, still tasted fantastic. haven't made it in a few months, because of what happened, but I would still recommend using this recipe. Next time I will try reverting back to the original electric mixer, and see how the recipe turns out. Definitely a must-have recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Awesome! My husband and daughter LOVED this on Valentine's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Perfect to make for any formal or informal event. Made it for my boyfriend and he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
There are no words to describe this incredible pie! I have had several French Silk Pies in my life but none of them compare to this one. The texture is incredible and the taste divine... and I'm not even a chocolate person! TIPS: 1. CRUST- I used a store-bought, pre-made, non-refrigerated chocolate pie crust (not Oreo). It was an excellent choice and added a great taste and texture. 2. MEASUREMENTS- Make sure to only fill the pie 1/2 or 3/4 at the most with the mousse. The rest will be whipped cream, which balances the richness of the mousse. Apply the whipped cream right before serving. I sprinkled milk chocolate chips on the top. 3. I HIGHLY recommend filling both pie crusts with the mousse right away and not leaving any extra mousse in the bowl to refrigerate overnight. I made the mistake of only filling 1 pie and then leaving the rest of the mousse for a second pie the next day and the texture was TOTALLY different. Once you fill the pie with the mousse, it's fine to refrigerate the pie and cover with foil. You just don't want to refrigerate only the mousse in a bowl overnight. The texture becomes much more dense and not as decadent. The texture is 50% of what makes this pie so amazing, so I highly recommend taking this particular piece of advice. I think everyone who's considering making this recipe absolutely should. You'll be so glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This tasted great and was very authentic except for the color. It wasn't as dark brown as I was expecting (as is normal), nor as dark as the picture. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Glynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States