French Silk Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This was perfect - creamy chocolate and whipped cream deliciousness! I used a graham cracker pie crust, and it was amazing. I've made this recipe a couple of times, and the last time I used Earth Balance Buttery Spread instead of butter (wasn't trying to make a statement, I was just out of butter), and I wouldn't recommend it. Made it too salty or something. Light butter seems to work out well, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I have made this pie twice and it was perfect both times. It is like eating a chocolate cloud. So rich and chocolaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I have made this several times. It is one of my husband's very favorite desserts. I have tried it with a rolled out crust and with crumb crust and by far a chocolate cookie crust is best with this recipe. I was amazed that this recipe didn't get all 5 stars. It is smooth, silky and beyond description delicious. I read the reviews here and on the Pillsbury site and I think the problems come from substituting ingredients and from not following the order exactly. Never use margarine and never use egg substitutes. The chemistry won't work if you make substitutions. Egg substitutes don't have yolks in them. Yolks act as emulsifiers and yolks are what turn the granulated sugar into spun silk. I also suspect that people aren't beating the mixture for a full 2 minutes between each egg which adds up to whole 8 minutes of beating. I use my Kitchen Aid mixer and a timer. I scrape my bowl down after each egg and after 2 eggs I take the beater out and carefully scraped down the bowl even more throughly. It is the beating along with those yolks that make this pie perfectly silky. If the filling is gritty then you probably didn't beat the batter enough between adding eggs enough or you substituted ingredients. I used pasteurized shell eggs as suggested. That is not the same as egg beaters! You need real shell eggs not anything from a carton. If you can't find them, I maintain that it is better to wash and dry your eggs because the contaminates are on the shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Needed another chocolate square for a richer taste. Good otherwise. can substitute cool whip for topping. Made WAY too much for a 9" pie. Had nearly enough filling for a whole second one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
It didn't quite turn out like the picture - light in colour and fluffy, but it tasted alright. I doubled the chocolate but it was still too mild in flavour. I neglected to lessen the sugar and it was so sweet that I had to add extra whipped cream to make it edible - kinda hurt my teeth! Definitely do 1/2 cup of sugar. The recipe also makes 1.5 pie shells worth so I will either do less next time or do some tarts too. I would 4x the chocolate and half the sugar and see how that goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Make with egg beaters! It turns out great! Also, my husband added a couple of extra cocoa cubes to make it more chocolatety and that was a good decision!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elk River, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I have been looking for this recipe for almost 20 years. It was someone's 'secret' recipe that they refused to give me, but I recognized it the minute I saw it. This is why they invented the Internet. This pie is divine, easily one of my favorites. However, it is super rich, so you need to invite people over to enjoy this with you. Last time I made it I used Giradelli baking chocolate, but it's pretty much the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
We love french silk chocolate pie. I decreased the sugar to 3/4 c., and didn't add the whipped cream or chocolate curls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I used the Butter Flaky Pie Crust from this site, rather than packaged, and it complimented the filling well. This filling was very lovely, though I personally would like more vanilla (and I do use a potent one).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
So much butter I could taste it! Might try again and add one more oz of choc and one more egg substitute, and decrease butter to 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States