French Silk Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
For those of you who don't want to risk the (granted, very small) issues with raw eggs, it's very easy to pasteurize eggs yourself. Just add eggs to a pan of water, and heat over medium heat to 140 degrees. Hold at 140 for 3 minutes for large eggs, 5 minutes for jumbo (don't go much above 140 or you'll have soft boiled eggs). Pull off heat and immediately run under cold water. I have small children so this is how I handled the eggs. For the pie-it turned out very nice! I followed the recipe closely, although I only had semi-sweet chocolate (Guittard). I upped the chocolate to 4 oz, and dropped the sugar about a quarter cup. I personally liked the amount this added to the crust. I used a deep dish pie crust. If I made it again I might add a couple Tbsp of cocoa or something like that because it just wasn't *quite* chocolate-y enough, but I like very dark, not very sweet chocolate. For this recipe I would NOT use egg beaters, and of course you can't use margarine. If your chocolate was too warm when you add it, you're probably going to run into issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Ohhhhh my, this recipe is quiet easy, but if you only have one store in your town an the nearest Walmart is about 40 mins away don't bother with pasteurized eggs, egg beaters or regular eggs work just fine. I also used bakers chocolate not Hershey and it came out just fine. Defiantly making this during the holidays again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Ooolala! This is amazing! I used fresh eggs as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This is the easiest thing to make and it tastes amazing!! My entire family request it for all holiday get-togethers. The best way to describe it is it's like eating chocolate air. It melts in your mouth. Absolutely a favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
phenominal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Easy to make, and quite delicious. It is rich, and I wanted it with coffee or milk. Very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Best French silk pie ever!! make sure to beat well, I think my total beating time was 16 min!! After the eggs that is!! Very good recipe, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This was a really good silk pie recipe. It's very rich and tasty. The amount of filling was perfect for 1 pie, and I followed the directions exactly for whipping time. The only complaint I have is that it would be much better with a graham cracker or cookie crust instead of regular pie shell. I'll try it that way next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Sutton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by squarepear
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
SUPER DUPER GOOD! And not too rich. Took the advice of other reviewers and only used 3/4 cup sugar. Everything else was exact. Beat it with my Kitchenaid and it turned out fantastic. I was worried the sugar wasn't going to mix in and it would be grainy, but after the 3rd egg, it was good. I used organic evaporated cane sugar, and sometimes that seems coarser than white sugar. Also used Ghiradelli chocolate. I made this for my chocaholic 4 year old's bday and she dug in and looked like she was in heaven! Will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squarepear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ingalls, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This pie was delicious made with semi-sweet chocolate chips, Splenda & Egg Beaters. To do it my way, measure a cup of cold water into a 2 cup measure, add butter to the 2 cup mark, pour off the water, & zap it. I accidentally melted the butter instead of softening it & I had no chocolate squares, so used chocolate chips (a little less than a cup to add more chocolate flavor). Add a little of the melted butter & zap to melt the chips. (If I make the pie this way again, I'll experiment with melting all the butter & the chocolate chips together & then adding them to the sugar/Splenda.) Let this cool while mixing the "butter/sugar". I used Splenda, a bit less than the sugar the recipe calls for, put it & the butter into the mixer bowl & whipped 'til frothy. Add the chocolate chips to the butter/sugar mixture, then add a cup of egg substitute, 1/2 cup at a time, mixing well after each addition, then add the vanilla & whip the mixture to soft peaks. I thought it needed more chocolate, so measured out another almost-full cup of chips & a little whip cream, preparatory to zapping them so I could add them to the mix, but when I turned around, the mixture had already started to set up! I poured it into the pie shell, and made a ganache* out of the additional chips. I spread this on the top of the pie, refrigerated for several hours, then topped with whipped cream. Wonderful! * See Chocolate Ganache by IngrideVogel on this site for a proper way to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1st Grambo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carpio, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States