French Silk Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Great recipe! I've made it twice now following the instructions as given and both pies turned out great. Husband's favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This is the French Silk Pie recipe from Pillsbury. My whole family loved it for Thanksgiving! This filled a regular 9-inch pie shell very much, so it probably could work with a deep-dish shell (and it would look more put-together). Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Tullos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Thanks to so many of you who gave helpful tips to make this pie so successful. Using the whipping attachment on the mixer really saved the day. I also used 1 teaspoon of almond extract in place of the 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla. Wonderful flavor! Just like a picture when done. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Steinberg
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This recipe is delicious. My husband, not a 'sweets' kind of guy, will nearly devour this thing in one sitting. I've now made it several times and tweak it accordingly. Firstly, I use a graham cracker crust. I make my own (2 c graham cracker crumbs, 1 TB butter, 1 TB sugar, dash of cinnamon, bake at 350 for 8 minutes), but you can also buy one. I've gotten fancy and started lining the crust with chocolate chips before pouring the batter. I also make it with 6 eggs. Be sure to WHIP WHIP WHIP between each egg. I cannot stress the importance of beating thoroughly - it's what makes the recipe. Finally, I'll use a homemade whipped cream - I think the difference is well worth the extra effort. Using the whip attachment, beat 1 1/2 c heavy whipping cream on medium-high. Add 1/4 c powdered sugar and 2 teaspoons vanilla about 30-45 seconds into whipping. Whip for several minutes until it's thick and forms peaks, but do not overwhip or else you'll end up with a hunk of sweetened butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela Samuels

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Made this today. It is amazing, my husband and son loved it and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I used to frequent a place called "Baker's Square" that made the most amazing French Silk Pies, so when they closed down all their shops I was in serious withdrawal. I always told myself that I would find a recipe that was just as good. While I can't say this recipe is a copycat because really the flavor depends on the type/brand of chocolate you use (I used Sees semisweet chocolate) omg it turned out absolutely amazing. I used only 1/2 cup of butter which was an accident though a fortunate one after reading some of the reviews. It still tasted buttery and atop of a flaky butter crust it was the perfect amount of flavor. I also used pasteurized egg product because I have several small children in the house, and had no immediate resources for pasteurized eggs themselves. You can't even tell! Make sure your tools are cold when trying to beat the finished product, if its too warm (like my California house in the summer) stick the mixing bowl with the pie filling in the freezer for about 20 minutes and try again, mine whipped up beautifully then after sitting in the fridge overnight was perfectly fluffy. Amazing. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Fregoso

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
This pie is so rich and decadent; I love it! I only used 3 eggs and it was still very fluffy. I beat for more than 2 minutes after each egg but I still couldn't escape the grittiness of the sugar. I also put it in a chocolate pie crust I made from a Chocolate Cookery cookbook. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kel7298
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This is my go to French Silk Pie recipe. I have made it using either a regular pastry crust and graham cracker crust. Both are divine and a personal preference based on what you want. Don't be afraid to whip it. I usually whip at least 3 min between eggs. If you notice the pre egg mixture is warm refrigerate for a few minutes prior to adding the eggs. The filling will be fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Just keep whipping. Just keep whipping. Oh my, I thought I had ruined this. I was using 1/2 dark sweet choc and 1/2 milk choc chips so reduced the sugar to 1/4 c. I also added the vanilla to the butter first by mistake and had the cottage cheese appearance even with the 5 minute beat between the eggs. So I just left it whipping for about 20 minutes more and voila, it is perfect. Don't give up, just keep whipping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrammaBeni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Tekoa, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I decided to make a chocolate pie one day and came across this recipe. It came out perfect and was gone in a day. My whole family loved this pie. It has been a request every time I say i will make a pie. So far we have made 6 of them and I have made the recipes as directed and never had a problem with it at all. Would rate it higher in stars but I just can't do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States