French Silk Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Just keep whipping. Just keep whipping. Oh my, I thought I had ruined this. I was using 1/2 dark sweet choc and 1/2 milk choc chips so reduced the sugar to 1/4 c. I also added the vanilla to the butter first by mistake and had the cottage cheese appearance even with the 5 minute beat between the eggs. So I just left it whipping for about 20 minutes more and voila, it is perfect. Don't give up, just keep whipping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrammaBeni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Tekoa, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I decided to make a chocolate pie one day and came across this recipe. It came out perfect and was gone in a day. My whole family loved this pie. It has been a request every time I say i will make a pie. So far we have made 6 of them and I have made the recipes as directed and never had a problem with it at all. Would rate it higher in stars but I just can't do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This recipe absolutely exceeded my expectations! It was decadently delicious and so very easy to make. My family loved it. I used a pre-made chocolate cookie crust and Hershey's chocolate curls on top. The only downside was that,unfortunately, I did have some trouble finding the pasteurized eggs in our grocery stores when I needed them. This recipe will likely become a Valentine's Day tradition around our house. I would rename it "Chocolate Truffle Pie" in honor of the filling's amazing texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
My family loved this. They asked that next time I make it with a graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
My wife's new FAVORITE chocolate pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
After taking this pie to a party, I was told I wasn't allowed to come over again unless I bring another pie! It was that good! I used an Oreo crust, but it would be just as delicious in a regular crust (it was very sweet in the Oreo crust). I am just about to make another one right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This pie is always a hit at family gatherings and celebrations. Smooth, rich, and chocolaty; and so easy to make. Just be sure to beat at least 2 minutes between each "egg".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
For those of you who don't want to risk the (granted, very small) issues with raw eggs, it's very easy to pasteurize eggs yourself. Just add eggs to a pan of water, and heat over medium heat to 140 degrees. Hold at 140 for 3 minutes for large eggs, 5 minutes for jumbo (don't go much above 140 or you'll have soft boiled eggs). Pull off heat and immediately run under cold water. I have small children so this is how I handled the eggs. For the pie-it turned out very nice! I followed the recipe closely, although I only had semi-sweet chocolate (Guittard). I upped the chocolate to 4 oz, and dropped the sugar about a quarter cup. I personally liked the amount this added to the crust. I used a deep dish pie crust. If I made it again I might add a couple Tbsp of cocoa or something like that because it just wasn't *quite* chocolate-y enough, but I like very dark, not very sweet chocolate. For this recipe I would NOT use egg beaters, and of course you can't use margarine. If your chocolate was too warm when you add it, you're probably going to run into issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Ohhhhh my, this recipe is quiet easy, but if you only have one store in your town an the nearest Walmart is about 40 mins away don't bother with pasteurized eggs, egg beaters or regular eggs work just fine. I also used bakers chocolate not Hershey and it came out just fine. Defiantly making this during the holidays again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Ooolala! This is amazing! I used fresh eggs as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States