French Silk Chocolate Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I find this pie just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
The first time I ever tried French Silk Pie was at my favorite eatery, and since that has gone out of business, I have been craving this delicious pie. It takes a long time to make the filling, but let me tell you that it is worth every second you put into it. I did do a few things to speed up the process. After melting the chocolate, I put it in the refrigerator so it would cool completely, and a little bit faster. In my opinion, it didn't change a thing. I also doubled the recipe, which personally, I didn't think was necessary. If you put in the time and effort, the filling is naturally fluffy, and expands to fit in a pie pan. Doubling the recipe did give me an extra pie, which I am very grateful for because it allowed me to taste test it before I show it off tomorrow, at Thanksgiving Dinner. I will be putting on whipped cream once I get to the dinner, and garnishing with chocolate chips, as I have no chocolate shavings. Pictures to come, if I can manage to take them before my family devours it. This is definitely a repeat recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I'm in love! I always make the chocolate pie for our (large) Thanksgiving family gathering, and I know this will be a huge hit this year! I appreciate the suggestions to increase the amounts of the ingredients for a more fully filled pie. I trebled the recipe to fill two 8 inch chocolate cookie crumb crusts. I use an organic granulated sugar, which is a little on the course side, and so at first I was concerned that the grainy texture would not smooth out, but by the addition of the two final eggs (obediently beating in for 5 minutes after each egg - thank goodness for my KitchenAid!) I could see that the texture was smoothing out. Indeed the result is a wonderfully silky, smooth and rich chocolate decadence! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Simply amazing! Velvety smooth, delightfully sinful taste and texture. Very easy to make. I used a 9" pie plate, doubled the recipe, it filled it perfectly. I also used a chocolate cookie crumb crust. The promise of one of these pies inspired my hubby to buy me a beautiful new Kitchenaid Mixer, how cool is THAT! He got his pie and I got the mixer that I've wanted for about 30 years! Thank you! I didn't read the review until just now telling to whip the egg whites then fold the rest of the mixture into them... hmm.. will have to try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 7SlotFever

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yreka, California, USA
Living In: Scotts Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
In all my years of baking I have never made a French Silk Pie. My new DH loves them, so of course I had to make one for him. Look no further. This is the one to use. I did not change a thing. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel7298

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hearne, Texas, USA
Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
My wife says this is the best chocolate pie ever. I think it is pretty good myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was a good starter filling. Very smooth and creamy. Would have liked more chocolate taste so I would probably add another square or two of chocolate. Perhaps bittersweet or semi so no more sugar is needed and it won't get bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Tasted wonderful! I think next time I would scale the recipe to 12 so it fills my 8" pie crust more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
awsome! loved it had my mom make this for my bday and zomg wonderful!!... only one problem... i couldnt eat enough now im going to have to suffer through more tonight...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Robison

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Mmm, mmm. Really easy to make, and dense, but mine did not get even a third of the height of the slice pictured. The consistency was perfect though, and I think that you could easily double or triple it in a spring-form pan with cookie crust for the effect pictured. I've served it in a coconut crust and a shortbread crust, both of which are yummy combinations. Using really good chocolate makes a difference in overall taste. It doesn't really even need whipped cream, it is just that rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States