French Silk Chocolate Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This was incredibly delicious!!! The first time I made this, I didn't have a pie pan or pre-made pie crust so I got creative and took 1 side of an oreo and put it in the bottom of a cupcake wrapper and then put the filling on top with cool whip over it and chocolate shredding over that. The 2nd time I bought oreo pie crusts and made 2 big ones! As long as you blend it for the full 5 minutes you will have plenty of filling especially if you plan on adding whipped topping! (I did, however, add 2 oz of extra melted chocolate because I like it rich!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I had plenty enough filling for what the recipe called for an 8 inch pie crust. If you try to use a deep dish pie crust you will have to double the recipe that's what a deep dish pie crust does it's common sense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving and it was devoured! I folded in a half pint of whipped heavy cream after the eggs were done beating and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ritsuko F
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Oh my! It was so so soooo wonderful!!! I read some previous reviews, so I added less sugar, and did mixed faster after adding each egg, and also mixed a couple of minutes after all eggs were added. The filling turned out to be silky smooth, and tasted rich chocolate!! I understand some reviewers experienced gritty texture in the filling. I also did when I was mixing butter and sugar, and I started doubting a little about the recipe. But keep mixing until butter and sugar get lighter and after adding eggs. Actually, when I started mixing with eggs, the grit texture was gone, and the filling becomes so smooth!!! To get a little more filling, you will need to mix (or beat) the filling after adding each egg quite well (faster!). If you have a stand mixer, it will help you! Please try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muldrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I just made this pie and the taste is GREAT! I had a quart of heavy whipping cream to use up and so I decided to use this pie to help "get rid of it". So I doubled this recipe for two pies - which worked out well. For adding the eggs I did 3 minutes for the first 2 eggs and 5 minutes on medium high speed for the last two eggs (using the stand mixer). YUM! Then it turns out that the whipped cream is clumpy. So... I have 2 French Silk pies...what a problem to have! Yes it is "thin" but the flavor is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mfaltesek
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Thanks to Ruth for posting such a delicious and easy to make recipe. After reading other reviews, I also cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup on the second batch. After adding some raspberries, fresh whipped cream, and cocoa powder, the family inhaled the mini-pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I made this recipe, and the flavor was good, but the filling was very dense after sitting in the refrigerator. Any idea why? Perhaps I over beat the eggs?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oak Brook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Really rich, really creamy! I did double the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I use a similar recipe, however I use powdered sugar to avoid the grainy texture. I also use 5 eggs, whipping with the whisk attachment for 5 minutes between each egg. It has been a no fail for years, with PLENTY of filling !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I followed this recipe to the letter & it was a disaster. The sugar made it so grainy it had the mouthfeel of sand. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States