French Silk Chocolate Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This was absolutely divine! I'm making it in mini shells this weekend to take camping. Would love to make ahead and freeze but not sure how that would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This is a good pie if you are familiar with French silk and love the airy consistency along with the verrrrry sweet taste. This was too sweet for the adults although the kids gobbled it up. I would decrease the sugar or perhaps stick to a mousse which I prefer for depth of flavor and texture. But like I said if this is a classic silk pie then it's spot on and I agree to whip eggs 5 min each with wire whisk. Used Oreo pie crust and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe, just double the ingredients and you'll be fine. I've never, repeat never, had a problem with this recipe and I've made it many times. Doubling the recipe and yes, beating five minutes ( okay, four) between each egg will make enough filling to mound up in the 9 inch pie shell. I top with whipped cream from a piping bag and sprinkle the top with chocolate sprinkles and toasted sliced almonds. The whole secret to this pie filling is the beating between each egg. Makes it truly live up to its silky name!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
My favorite pie ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I have a recipe very similar to this. The only differences in the ingredients are the amount of chocolate (3 ounces rather than 2 ounces) and vanilla (1.5 teaspons rather than just 1 teaspoon) and unsalted butter rather than regular butter. But my method is a lot more beating. I beat the sugar and butter for 5 minutes at high speed before adding the eggs. I add both eggs at the same time and beat for another 4 minutes. I then add the melted, cooled chocolate and vanilla and beat for another 8 minutes (6 minutes if using superfine sugar). I also serve with whipped cream and use a cookie crust (made with Nabisco Famous Wafers). I have made it this way several times and it has never come up gritty. And it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I followed a lot of the other reviews and it still tastes bad. The proportions are Way off even with the reviewers corrections. Do not make this pie! Keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Be VERY careful if you want to try almond extract. I read a review to try it and added a tiny bit. Three out of five people tried it for pi day didn't like it and thought it was too strong. Also use real vanilla if you can, it makes much of the flavor. Other than that, a fantastic pie! I beat it well for the full time and it was silky and fluffy. It filled a smallish homemade oreo crust well. topped with chocolate shavings, served with whipped cream on the side but I think it's great without. I also used 4 tbsp. dutch process cocoa powder like one reviewer said, mixed well and it turned out great (except for the fact that I spilled cocoa all over the table, chair and floor when trying to move my mixing to appease movie watchers nearby). Very tasty, will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Delicious! I doubled the recipe for one pie and the amount was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Good texture, but overly sweet. I followed Barb's suggestion to add two egg whites whipped with 1/4 cup sugar to the original recipe. The resulting pie had a lovely light texture (though my husband maintains that a real French silk pie should be denser), but it was too sweet, verging on cloying. I served it with whipped cream in a chocolate crust made from crushed wafers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I made the pie exactly as the recipe required for Valentine's Day. Unlike others, I had no issues with the filling. I had just enough for a nine inch crust. I held faithful to the beating time, and I think that's what gives the filling it's volume. I was scared I wouldn't have enough but I did. I made this with a chocolate crust, but it was waaaaay too sweet, so I will not be trying that again! But that's only my fault. The taste of the actual pie filling was wonderful, HOWEVER, I had the pie in the fridge for twice the recommended time and it totally fell apart. Thank goodness it was just my immediate family and not my sweetheart or a larger group of people because I would have been devastated. I will make this again but not without letting it sit much longer, maybe even overnight, because it barely set beyond the top layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States