French Silk Chocolate Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This was really tasty but I agree that its a bit on the skimpy side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
A tiny bit gritty. I needed to mix longer I'm guessing. Other than that, came out great!! Nice and smooth and a wonderful present for a very good friend of mine who said his favorite was French Silk. Will try again!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This turned out great considering it was my first french silk pie. It was on the rich side and just a tad gritty from the sugar, but it didn't bother me. I followed the recipe exactly and found that the mixture filled the pie crust perfectly since we were topping it with whipped cream; however, if you are not planning on topping it with whipped cream you might increase the amount of the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Followed the instructions to the letter including using an 8" pie pan and we had no problems. Was just the right amount of filling and I let it sit in the fridge for a few hours and it set perfectly. I slapped some whipped topping on before serving and everyone raved. It only took us two days to finish the first one between two people and the next day my husband asked if I could make another! He said it was his new favorite dessert. Granny would be proud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Seriously decadent! I followed the recipe exactly, except I made 1.5x the filling. It ended up filling the crust to normal pie depth. However, my dinner guests thought it too rich to eat a regular sized slice (1/8 of pie). Next time I will either cut pie into 16ths or use original filling amount and use whip cream to bring filling to crust height. Or maybe I will make these as little tartlets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
The recipe was VERY easy to follow. It provides just enough filling which is fine by me, but I found the dessert too sweet. I probably won't make it again. And yes, if you beat each egg for 5 minutes, the filing becomes fluffy like its supposed to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I read the reviews multiple times before starting. I whipped my egg whites separately as one reviewer suggested until they formed stiff peaks & then whisked them in equal amounts with each yolk for the suggested 5 min each time. I also doubled the ingredients as many suggested. The pie was full in a 9 " pan, the flavor was nice, but could've been less sweet, but my greatest disappointment was the texture. No matter how much whisking I did in a stand mixer, it was entirely too grainy. With all the prep I put into it, I just expected more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Made this for my husbands birthday. I added a layer of peanut-butter beat with whipped cream and confectioner's sugar and topped it with more whipped cream. I could never get the white sugar in the chocolate portion of the pie to dissolve, but the flavor was nice. He loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Seriously the best!! Make sure to do the full amount of mixing in order to get the creamiest pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I was so hoping for better...not as chocolate-y as I expected and a little grainy from the sugar and I followed directions exactely and even watched the video for this. I was impressed though how mixing for 5 minutes per egg really made this mixture rich and creamy. Just a little disappointed bout flavor and texture here. I also think it may have been too sweet, maybe less sugar and maybe instead of granulated sugar, confectioners?? Oh well, I tried but probably wont try again with this recipe. I used Oreo cookies and made Chocolate Wafer Crust from this site for this pie. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 41-50 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States