French Silk Chocolate Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I made this recipe, and the flavor was good, but the filling was very dense after sitting in the refrigerator. Any idea why? Perhaps I over beat the eggs?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oak Brook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Really rich, really creamy! I did double the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I use a similar recipe, however I use powdered sugar to avoid the grainy texture. I also use 5 eggs, whipping with the whisk attachment for 5 minutes between each egg. It has been a no fail for years, with PLENTY of filling !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I followed this recipe to the letter & it was a disaster. The sugar made it so grainy it had the mouthfeel of sand. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Just made this recipe for our 16th anniversary. Total disappointment. Tasted like chocolate cake icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Super simple and delicious! If you use a regular pie shell (not deep dish) and actually whip the mixture after each egg for 5 minutes it does make enough to make fill the shell. I have a Kitcheaid stand mixer and switched from the paddle to the wisk when I added the eggs. I added one egg, whipped for 5 minutes, added the second egg, whipped for 5 minutes, and it turned out fluffy and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly with one exception. I beat the ingredients on 3 because my speed 2 does not work on my hand mixer. I used a metal bowl and mixed until my butter and sugar were almost white. I beat the eggs for the full 5 minutes each. Because I like to put things away as I go, I also added the vanilla to the chocolate before it was completely cooled and it bubbled and made the chocolate thicken up. (not sure I would do this again, but it didn't seem to matter) I am making chocolate cream puffs with this instead of a pie. From the amount of filling I have, I can't imagine that this would not be more than enough for a 9 inch pan. Most mistakes that are made with baking are not taking the time to beat things as long as the recipe states or not doing things in the correct order.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This is my son's favorite pie. But I do double the recipe and use a deep dish pie shell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Even better than bakers square french silk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
The pie was delicious! However, my filling came out very light brown compare to the picture. Does anyone have a clue why? I used 4 ounces of chocolate since I double the recipe. Was that accurate or did I made a mistake there and that's the reason why?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 407) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States