French Silk Chocolate Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I took other reviewer's advise. I separated the eggs, and beet the whites to stiff peaks. Meanwhile I mixed the rest of the ingredients for a loooong time (30-40 min)in order to dissolve all of the sugar I could. I carefully folded in the whipped egg whites, filled the pie crust, covered the pie plate, and chilled it. It came out GREAT! One tip would be to take the pie out of the fridge a few minutes before serving. Cold it is a bit dense, but close to room temp it gets silky smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This recipe turned out grainy and not good. I followed the recipe as written and beat the mixture on high speed for longer than listed and it still didn't turn out. It's edible but I wouldn't recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
The easiest and (by FAR) best chocolate silk pie! I highly rec. this. The texture is just perfect and its makes a delicious cold/creamy dessert. This is a perfect dessert for any occasion-Bring it to a bbq kick-out or bring it to a fancy friends celebration...either way it fits in PERFECT! * * * * *
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Cozycook*

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This is a great recipe and very similar to mine but I substitute the melted baking chocolate for 3T baking cocoa and 1 T. vegetable oil. I think it gives it a better flavor. I also double the recipe for more filling. My family and friends all rave about it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chermeco

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bhoneycutt
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Very Rich but I love rich :) I can see how it may be overpowering for the weaker ones. I didn't have any problems with it being grainy but I do have a stand mixer with the whisk attachment and let the eggs whisk up for 5 mins a piece. Giving it only 4 stars because the wife thought it was too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I gave this a 5 star because the taste and consistency was perfect. I did have to do a few adjustments. The first pie I made I doubled the recipe and separated the eggs beating the whites until firm and then folded them in. The total time of beating for this pie was 50 minutes (I beat the heck out of it at each step). The finished product was a perfect consistency pie with a very grainy taste. So, I did it again only this time, instead of using the 3/4 cup of sugar, I used 1 1/2 cups of powdered sugar (actually I used 3 cups since I doubled the recipe the second time as well). The end result? A perfect, delicious, smooth pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
So I was paranoid after reading all the reviews, and doubled the recipe for my first attempt. It was way too much. The pie was filled to the top in the [premade] Oreo crust, plus leftovers! Weird thing though...we never got around to eating it that day, and the next day it was hard and didn't taste good. It had tasted so good in the bowl, so I dunno what happened overnight to kill it. Anyway, I made it again last week exactly as written (no beating the egg whites or any fancy tricks!), and I had plenty of filling! Use a good quality mixer and give each egg the whole five minutes and you'll be all right. Mine was the color of chocolate milk, it set up nicely, and everyone LOVED it. I got all conceited and started bragging, hahaha. From now on, I won't use the store-bought crusts, they're never that good, they don't do the pie justice. So just mix up two dozen Oreos with a few tablespoons of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAPPYAPATHY
Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I make this every Thanksgiving and would be in a lot of trouble from my family if I didn't. I do half vanilla, half almond and the result is just plain awesome. You do need to DOUBLE this recipe for one pie, the first year I did not and had to use whipped topping for the top half of the pie. (Was still good) Be SURE to beat with the whisk attachment on your mixer for 5 minutes between eggs. I set a timer. This ensures a smooth filling with no grainy texture. This makes an extremely rich pie and most people are fine with a tiny slice. But it is always the first one devoured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This was a big hit in my household. Husband and son both enjoyed this pie. I did make more filling since I was filling a 9" shell. I used 1 1/2 sticks butter 1 cup sugar, 3 eggs and 3 squares of unsweetened baking chocolate. This is absolutely to die for chocolate pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
After making this recipe three times I have some things to say. Just.....don't make it. No matter what you do it will taste grainy, there is so much sugar that it is impossible to not taste the tiny grains, no matter how slow you add it or how long you whip it. I'd make another type of pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States