French Silk Chocolate Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I was so hoping for better...not as chocolate-y as I expected and a little grainy from the sugar and I followed directions exactely and even watched the video for this. I was impressed though how mixing for 5 minutes per egg really made this mixture rich and creamy. Just a little disappointed bout flavor and texture here. I also think it may have been too sweet, maybe less sugar and maybe instead of granulated sugar, confectioners?? Oh well, I tried but probably wont try again with this recipe. I used Oreo cookies and made Chocolate Wafer Crust from this site for this pie. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Made this for my chocolate pie loving dad on Father's Day ~ it was inhaled with paroxysms of joy. I'm now making it for Thanksgiving with a few alterations: I used eggbeaters for safety's sake, so I beat for 5 minutes after each 1/4 of a cup of the eggbeaters, until I reached 3/4 cup (equivalent 3 eggs). No need to double the recipe if you do this! I used a pre-made graham cracker crust for a time-saver, and it was delicious. Finally, I put in 3/4 tsp of vanilla and 1/4 tsp of almond extract. Thanks for this fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
once it all comes together the flavor is so good. looking at the ingredients singly it looks like nothing special but after adding the final ingredient the filling is phenomenal. Two years ago was my first time making or tasting a homemade french silk and i was blown away. I top mine with real whipped cream and some chocholate curls (aka chunks lol) and everyone really enjoys it. I do try and use farm fresh eggs when I can making this pie but if i cant get my hands on them I buy organic and just grab the one with the furthest experation date....because of the raw eggs it just seems like the fresher the better. I do whip for a few minutes after each addition too, and after you leave the pie in the fridge a few hours it sets beautifully (because of all that butter :P )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by audrielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Fine but not great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This recipe is GREAT. You do NOT need to double it though. That was my only mistake. I had a 9" deep dish pie crust and figured I'd have to double it based on the reviews, and I ended up with twice as much filling as I needed. As long as you blend the ingredients for the recommended amount of time (3-5 mins PER EGG) your filling will fill up your pie. I had SO much fun licking the mixer whisks after I made this :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pickles27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I have made this several times and it is a BIG hit; follow all the directions especially the time it takes to beat in each egg! I always double the filling and have at times considered tripling it. If you only made a single batch of filling you would have a mighty small pie. I also top mine with whipped cream and chocolate shavings. It is beautiful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I never, never write reviews, but had to take the time in this one! I read through a bunch of the reviews, and couldn't decide if I should double it or not. In the end, I decided to follow the recipe. It turned put sooo creamy and rich! It was amazing. I read one review that talked about the mixture needing to be cold, and that is what made all the difference. I live in Spain, and it's in the 110's...impossibly hot. Even with air-conditioning, it's not like the states where you can get your house cool. I had whipped this thing for all the time required...followed the directions like it said, but it was still soupy. I decided to try to put it in the feezer for 10-15 minutes. The edges had just begun to freeze, and I beat it again for the 5 min, and this time it thickened right up and changed from that dark color to the light brown color it's supposed to have. It was decadent. It is so rich, though, it really does need the layer of whipped cream (like a normal French silk has) to balance out the richness. But, either way, without doubling the recipe, I had enough filling for a 9 in. pie... The key was to make sure the mixture was cold, cold, cold! Unbelievably delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I've made this pie several times now--most recently with a chocolate graham cracker crust--Yum! As some reviewers have said, the recipe doesn't make a ton of filling--but it's so rich! I top it with fresh whipped cream and to me, it's the perfect chocolate pie. If the mix doesn't fluff up enough--as happened to me once in a very hot kitchen--try putting the bowl in the refrigerator for a little while and then beat some more. Worked great for me. Thanks for this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPRINGMEOW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grain Valley, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Good flavor, but I must have done something wrong; mine did not set well, and I ended up having to freeze it--no one complained; French Silk Ice Cream Pie was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Wow, I am so bummed. I tried so hard to make this recipe. I totally destroyed it! :( I will try again though, when I have more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States