French Silk Chocolate Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
So after reading a bunch of the reviews for this recipe, I was thoroughly confused as to which directions I should follow. To double the recipe for filling…or not? To whip the egg whites into stiff peaks…or just whip the entire egg in as is? After much consideration, the only changes I made were to the serving size (I changed it to 12, b/c I used a 9 in pan), the crust (I used an oreo cookie crust), and the method of preparation (I used a whisk attachment for the eggs and a paddle attachment for the other ingredients). I whipped each egg for 5 minutes before adding the next one. I ended up with a BEAUTIFUL, silky, heavenly French silk pie! I will DEFINITELY be making this in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobachai

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I doubled the recipe as others suggested and it fit perfectly in the graham cracker pie crust. I'm not sure if this was supposed to happen, but the filling ended up having chunks---it looked like I had crushed oreo cookies in it. I noticed this started forming when I put the 3rd egg in. In the end, it tasted smooth with the occasional chocolate chunks which tasted just fine to me and the guests. Yes, I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This just wasn't for me. Like the other reviewers, I didn't like the texture and really the taste wasn't right either. I need a baked pie I think. Several other family members just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Love this recipe. I made it exactly as stated and it came out perfect. Not too sweet. Not too chocolately. Balanced just right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I think this recipe is absolutely perfect as is. I have read other reviews saying that the filling is not enough, or that you are also supposed to fold in the whipped egg whites, etc... Honestly, I can't see why you would. If you follow the recipe exactly, you get a very rich, super smooth and 'silky' chocolate filling. Sure, the filling isn't thick, per se, but it's so rich that I think it would be a waste. I have made this pie several times, with regular pie crust, which a chocolate cookie crumb crust and in individual tartlet shells, and it always comes out perfectly. And I ALWAYS get asked for the recipe. It's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Rott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Made this for Thanksgiving and it was wonderful! I need to find a better crust, I just used the crisco recipe, which was okay. Thanks, I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
New name...Chocolate crack pie. Because it's VERY addictive! Beat the snot out of the eggs, at least the 5 minutes per egg that is recommended ON HIGH SPEED. It's the only way to whip the eggs up to the consistency you want for this pie. (I used size Large...medium size eggs won't fill up the pie.) The recipe should fill an 8 inch store bought Oreo pie crust just fine, with a little room to spread some cool whip or whipped topping over the top, and then drizzle with Hersheys syrup. Amazing recipe. Everyone will go back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARMONYGIRL79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I used cocoa and cut down the egg to 1. Soooo good! I usually double the recipe for a fuller pie and top with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Gritty! The sugar was gritty, like not disolved. Otherwise it was very good. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynna_Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcade, New York, USA
Living In: Lindale, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This pie was DELICIOUS!!! I did make some variations like many others. I doubled the recipe with the exceptionof only 1 cup of sugar. Probably after the 3rd minute into the 3rd egg is when the grittiness of the sugar really started to go away. I used a frozen pie crust baked in the oven, lite cool whip and half a Hershey cholocate bar for garnish on the top! My husband told me the pie was better then Baker's Square! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States