French Silk Chocolate Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is really yummy! I made 2 8-inch pies, so I used 3 x the original recipe. I also used shortening with 1tsp of butter flavour instead of butter. I was expecting the pie to look as dark as in the photo, but mine was more the colour of chocolate milk. Definitely recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Good recipe but definitely did not have the "wow" factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefScharny
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Very good french silk pie recipe.... I multiplied the recipe by 1.5 for my 9 inch pie pan.... still a little shy but not bad.... I garnished with whipped topping so it was about perfect.... very fluffy and chocolately... great valentines day pie for someone special ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Whitney
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I put a layer of homemade, sweetened whipped cream on top and garnished with chocolate shavings. The taste and texture was PERFECT. The only problem I have is with the reviewers. I don't understand what the big deal is about the amount yielded in the original recipe if you are using a regular-depth 8 or 9 inch pie dish. I usually read reviews prior to making a recipe and usually find them helpful, but this time I'm disappointed. I doubled the batch of filling due to the amount of complaints I read, and well, I could have piled on all of that filling to the point of an overflow...as another cook did according to a picture posted of this recipe, but why would I? It is already a very rich filling and to put THAT much in?! A "French Silk Pie" is supposed to have a generous layer of whipped cream on top and I'm sure that's what no one is doing (according to a lot of the pictures posted of this recipe). Luckily it was so good that my brother-in-law requested another pie the next day so the second pie did not go to waste. So WARNING: If you want more filling, try doing 1 1/2 of the recipe before you go doubling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
this is so awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockdale, Texas, USA
Living In: Huron, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I changed the servings to 12 (per another rater) and the filling fit perfectly in a 9 inch premade chocolate crust. This pie received rave reviews from my guests. I served it with Reddi Whip and it just melted in our mouths. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
this pie is amazing! i have made it a few times and it just gets better and better. after the first time i made this french silk my it quickly became my boyfriends favorite dessert and now he begs me to make it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Easy recipe and tasted really good. Topped with homemade whipped cream :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Nealy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Douglass, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 398) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States