French Short Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I used this recipe this morning to make the 120 Calories Peach Pies from this site. After allowing the dough to sit for 30 minutes after processing, I cut the eight 4" circle crusts, put them into the fridge for 15 minutes, then filled the crusts and baked. The crust was tender and tasty and oh-soooo-easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I give this 5 stars for the method! This is really a standard short crust pastry but using the food processor really cuts down on time and you don't overwork the dough which makes pastry tough. A couple of tips - I cut the butter into cubes and stick them in the freezer to really firm up. Pulse the flour and salt together, add the chilled butter and pulse just enough to form pea sized crumbs. Use ice cold water and add it as you are pulsing the dough. Be careful to not add too much water - test by taking a pinch of the dough and squeezing it together - it should not be sticky but just hold together. Dump the dough onto a lightly floured surface and gently pat it together. I then rolled it to fit the pie pan and placed it in the refrigerator. I used this for chicken pot pie and I did not blind bake it. I doubled the recipe - for a top and bottom crust, used an egg wash on the top crust and baked at 400. The result was a nice, flakey tender pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I too like the method in the food processor. Easy peasy. Just needed to double the salt if using unsalted butter. I used this for chocolate tarts and it was a nice, sturdy & tender crust. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
The proportions are spot on. I have tried other short crusts and found them greasy. As I always do, I replaced the water with vodka from the freezer and only needed 4 tbs. I wish I had read the review advising doubling the salt with sweet butter. I was using this crust for a quiche that bakes at 375 so I did blind bake it for about 15 minutes at 425 to avoid a soggy bottom. This turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
This is indeed a fantastic and flaky short pastry. It melts in the mouth. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
This was delicious! The only thing I added was a little more salt. I used this crust for a spinach quiche, prebaking the crust for 12 minutes before adding the filling. This is a great crust recipe for non-dessert pies, because it's rich without being sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
This was easy and quickly made. Yes it's a bit fussy if you're trying to make a pie that bakes at a different temperature, but it is worth the effort. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I have made many, many pie crusts from scratch including making and rolling as many as 75 in a row when working at a restaurant bakery. This is indeed a classic pastry recipe and it works beautifully! I made two crusts using a food processor and blind baked them. They are about to be filled with Lemon Meringue III. I can tell from handling to pastry and seeing them come from the oven that these will be wonderful crusts. Be sure not to overwork the dough and use water either from the fridge or use water with ice cubes strained out. Stop processing before it totally comes together. Turn it onto a lightly floured surface and fold together just a few times until it forms a ball. Wrap in plastic and put it into the freezer for 20-30 minutes. Then roll it out. If it shrinks at all as you roll it, put it back into the freezer immediately or before filling. This will prevent gluten from forming and will yield a tender, flaky crust. You can also freeze the crust tightly wrapped either before or after rolling it and forming the crust in the pan. Sorry, I already filled the crusts; I'll take a picture next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I truly love this recipe and am now converted to make my own pie crusts and not use pre-made dough! This method is almost as easy, less expensive and so much better!!! I make it using coconut oil instead of butter...wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
My pot pie recipe called for baking at 350 degrees and this crust really needs to be baked at 400 degrees or more to be browned. I used this as a TOP crust for a beef pot pie so I couldn't pre-bake it like the instructions said. It was also the first time I've made crust with my food processor so I am sure it will be better in future iterations. I will likely try this recipe again but use it for a BOTTOM crust or for a top crust only if the recipe calls for high heat 400-450. Even with my turning the temp up and down and up to get it to brown and my inexperience with making dough in a food processor, it turned out looking beautiful. The texture however was limp, not flaky, but it tasted tender and buttery. I am sure any shortcoming in the result was due to the baker, not the recipe. I do agree with the other reviewer -- this recipe needs a smidgeon more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Cherry Fold-It-Up Pastry

See how to make a deliciously simple cherry-filled pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States