French Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
LOVE LOVE LOVED IT! I left out the onion and lemon juice as I didn't have any but will add it next time. I also used apple cider vinegar. This was EXCELLENT! It's a homemade Catalina French! I highly recommend this recipe if you like Catalina French. I'm e-mailing this to my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
This is excellent dressing! I took the advice of other reviewers and used half vegetable and half olive oil, and cut back on the sugar. Next time I will use Splenda and see how that works. I'll never buy French dressing again. Thank you so much, Gemini26, for sharing your wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This recipe is simple and really taste better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This is a favorite dressing. Tastes like a brand that's been around for years in my neck of the woods. It's a great recipe as is. Try substituting Splenda for sugar if desired. This is such a flavorful dressing...a little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I won't give this a lower rating as I changed some ingredients, however, that being said, it's a great starter recipe for those wanting to experiment for the "perfect" French Dressing that doesn't come in a bottle (with all the they put in the bottle as well). I used extra virgin olive oil, Hunt's no fructose ketchup, left out the salt, just don't see any reason for additional salt, and the sugar is totally off the chart. I can't even imagine using that much suger. I cut the recipe in half, and it still called for 1/4 c and 2 TB!!!! With the ketchup being as sweet as it is in the first place, leave it out as well.I also used minced dehydrated onion as I was in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
fantastic! i made a few modifications, of course: I used a leftover shallot i had laying around for the small onion, mixed half vegetable oil and half olive oil (next time i think ill go full olive oil), used apple cider vinegar and cut the sugar down to 2/3 a cup due to the sweetness of the vinegar. Not only was it the best french dressing I have ever had, but I seriously think it could be bottled and sold. BRAVO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
so good. I made it exactly as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dagus Mines, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This is a great dressing. I have made several different French dressings but this one has the best consistency. The only thing I added was 2 cloves of minced garlic. It has a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Great for taco salads
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
A friend gave me some of this and it was the best French dressing I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States