French Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I won't give this a lower rating as I changed some ingredients, however, that being said, it's a great starter recipe for those wanting to experiment for the "perfect" French Dressing that doesn't come in a bottle (with all the they put in the bottle as well). I used extra virgin olive oil, Hunt's no fructose ketchup, left out the salt, just don't see any reason for additional salt, and the sugar is totally off the chart. I can't even imagine using that much suger. I cut the recipe in half, and it still called for 1/4 c and 2 TB!!!! With the ketchup being as sweet as it is in the first place, leave it out as well.I also used minced dehydrated onion as I was in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
LOVE LOVE LOVED IT! I left out the onion and lemon juice as I didn't have any but will add it next time. I also used apple cider vinegar. This was EXCELLENT! It's a homemade Catalina French! I highly recommend this recipe if you like Catalina French. I'm e-mailing this to my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This recipe is simple and really taste better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
so good. I made it exactly as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dagus Mines, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
This is excellent dressing! I took the advice of other reviewers and used half vegetable and half olive oil, and cut back on the sugar. Next time I will use Splenda and see how that works. I'll never buy French dressing again. Thank you so much, Gemini26, for sharing your wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
A friend gave me some of this and it was the best French dressing I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This is a favorite dressing. Tastes like a brand that's been around for years in my neck of the woods. It's a great recipe as is. Try substituting Splenda for sugar if desired. This is such a flavorful dressing...a little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
fantastic! i made a few modifications, of course: I used a leftover shallot i had laying around for the small onion, mixed half vegetable oil and half olive oil (next time i think ill go full olive oil), used apple cider vinegar and cut the sugar down to 2/3 a cup due to the sweetness of the vinegar. Not only was it the best french dressing I have ever had, but I seriously think it could be bottled and sold. BRAVO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This is a great dressing. I have made several different French dressings but this one has the best consistency. The only thing I added was 2 cloves of minced garlic. It has a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Great for taco salads
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States