French Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This is a favorite dressing. Tastes like a brand that's been around for years in my neck of the woods. It's a great recipe as is. Try substituting Splenda for sugar if desired. This is such a flavorful dressing...a little goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
so good. I made it exactly as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dagus Mines, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
LOVE LOVE LOVED IT! I left out the onion and lemon juice as I didn't have any but will add it next time. I also used apple cider vinegar. This was EXCELLENT! It's a homemade Catalina French! I highly recommend this recipe if you like Catalina French. I'm e-mailing this to my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I won't give this a lower rating as I changed some ingredients, however, that being said, it's a great starter recipe for those wanting to experiment for the "perfect" French Dressing that doesn't come in a bottle (with all the they put in the bottle as well). I used extra virgin olive oil, Hunt's no fructose ketchup, left out the salt, just don't see any reason for additional salt, and the sugar is totally off the chart. I can't even imagine using that much suger. I cut the recipe in half, and it still called for 1/4 c and 2 TB!!!! With the ketchup being as sweet as it is in the first place, leave it out as well.I also used minced dehydrated onion as I was in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
A friend gave me some of this and it was the best French dressing I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
This is excellent dressing! I took the advice of other reviewers and used half vegetable and half olive oil, and cut back on the sugar. Next time I will use Splenda and see how that works. I'll never buy French dressing again. Thank you so much, Gemini26, for sharing your wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This is a great dressing. I have made several different French dressings but this one has the best consistency. The only thing I added was 2 cloves of minced garlic. It has a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I needed French dressing for tomorrow and decided to try this. I was also going fix me late night snack. After tasting this dressing I changed my and decided to eat a salad. I left out the sugar completely thinking the ketchup would make it sweet enough. I was right. I made it with my nutrabullet. It was a snap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Gant

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Great for taco salads
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Outstanding flavor! I used my mini food processor to make this and made half the recipe, since it is just the two of us. I used all the exact same measurements and used grape seed oil and white balsamic vinegar. I am sure the original ingredients are just as good, but it was what I had on hand. I could see other adaptations to this recipe as well....great base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshinelady5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States