French Quarter Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2002
This is sooooooooo good! Very easy to make. Put it together after Christmas dinner in minutes and an hour later enjoyed by all. 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
This recipe is very good. I've made it about 6 times now, and I've been playing with it a bit. I must say that if you cover it, the raisins won't burn while it's cooking (learned the hard way). I serve it with a bourbon sauce and it's been a hit every time I've made it (even when I had to pick off the raisins). Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
This is the best bread pudding recipe that I've ever tried! I used whipping cream (since I had it on hand)instead of the half-and-half. This bread pudding is soooo very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
I am sitting here...still smelling this bread pudding aroma throughout my house. I just made this, on a whim, because I had so much french bread leftover from Superbowl. It is AWESOME. If you like raisins, use them! I think it would be best to add them, half way through cooking. I don't even usually rate..but this was an exception.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
Very very good. I used a very chewy country Italian bread and it gave it a really nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
Indeed, this is truly a jewel. Bread pudding has always been a favorite, but this one is tops in taste. Both my husband and I have had none better. Thank heavens for Grandmas and daughters who keep and share their recipes! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
All I can say is ... Oh my gosh!!! I made a bourbon sauce to go over it and it was the hit of Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tavisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
I loved this!! I did omit raisins and pecans and I doubled the spices. I used heavy cream and soaked for an hour before baking. I also sprinkled brown sugar on top before baking and it was perfect! Served with a butter vanilla sauce and got rave reviews from a family gathering full of food snobs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
I have been looking for a bread pudding recipe that I thought had the same ingredients as my mother's. When I saw this one and the other positive reviews it had gotten, I decided to try it. I was amazed at how much this tasted like my mother's bread pudding recipe. There is no need to adjust this recipe. The amount of each ingredient is as it should be. I did adjust this recipe myself because of the ingredients I had on hand, not because of anything in the recipe. Instead of using french bread, I used a bag of leftover potato rolls that my family never ate. I also didn't have a 1/2 cup (1 stick) of butter because I forgot to buy butter. I only had a half of a stick of regular (not unsalted) butter so that's what I used. Everything else was the same. Some people suggest that you let the bread soak in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes before baking to ensure that the bread soaks up all the liquid. I pushed down the bread into the mixture until it was mostly soaked up. It only took about 5 minutes and the bread pudding still turned out great. Just like home. Thank you Sanatacruz for an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
Thanks for the terrific recipe! I have fixed it twice, and have had no leftovers. I happened to have raisin bread on hand and substituted it for both the bread and the raisins. The flavoring was wonderful and I had no trouble with the raisins burning. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States