French Quarter Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
This recipe is one of the best I have found. This dish is always a hit anytime I make it for family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Yummy and very simple, I used up leftover bread and rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Very good, used whipping cream instead of half and half. Served with brown sugar sauce and cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
My mom use to make bread pudding all the time and used whatever bread she had leftover so when I saw this recipe, and had a loaf of rustic raisin bread, I decided to try it. First of all I don't think the pan was big enough for a 1 pound loaf of bread, I would recommend a 9X13, then toasting the bread seemed like an unnecessary step, and only made the bread tough after baking. I would also let the bread soak at least an hour before baking. I will make this again, but with these few modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This is probably the best bread pudding I've ever eaten, homemade or otherwise, and was the first I'd ever made. I received tons of compliments and many requests for a recipe. I even prepared it with old sandwich bread it turned out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugaree1485

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Starkville, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I didn't like the taste or texture of this dish. This is the second bread pudding I've ever made and I think because this wasn't soaked overnight it just seemed to be slices of layered flavored bread. It never came together in a more uniform texture as my other recipe did. My mom liked this, and liked the flavor, but I threw the rest away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
I am sitting here...still smelling this bread pudding aroma throughout my house. I just made this, on a whim, because I had so much french bread leftover from Superbowl. It is AWESOME. If you like raisins, use them! I think it would be best to add them, half way through cooking. I don't even usually rate..but this was an exception.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
I loved this!! I did omit raisins and pecans and I doubled the spices. I used heavy cream and soaked for an hour before baking. I also sprinkled brown sugar on top before baking and it was perfect! Served with a butter vanilla sauce and got rave reviews from a family gathering full of food snobs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
Thanks for the terrific recipe! I have fixed it twice, and have had no leftovers. I happened to have raisin bread on hand and substituted it for both the bread and the raisins. The flavoring was wonderful and I had no trouble with the raisins burning. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
I have been looking for a bread pudding recipe that I thought had the same ingredients as my mother's. When I saw this one and the other positive reviews it had gotten, I decided to try it. I was amazed at how much this tasted like my mother's bread pudding recipe. There is no need to adjust this recipe. The amount of each ingredient is as it should be. I did adjust this recipe myself because of the ingredients I had on hand, not because of anything in the recipe. Instead of using french bread, I used a bag of leftover potato rolls that my family never ate. I also didn't have a 1/2 cup (1 stick) of butter because I forgot to buy butter. I only had a half of a stick of regular (not unsalted) butter so that's what I used. Everything else was the same. Some people suggest that you let the bread soak in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes before baking to ensure that the bread soaks up all the liquid. I pushed down the bread into the mixture until it was mostly soaked up. It only took about 5 minutes and the bread pudding still turned out great. Just like home. Thank you Sanatacruz for an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States