French Quarter Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Delish! Made without the raisens and sprinkled brown sugar over the top. Tip: Push the bread down in the liquid with your hands to soak well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandiee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by joy-of-jesus-smileymom
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Wow. Very rich, verrrry good. I would describe this dessert as a flavorful cross between rice pudding and baked french toast. By far the best I've tasted. I used a french baguette and a couple slices of apple raisin bread, along with heavy cream and milk. The raisins WERE good--I do recommend their addition. I had to soak the mixture a few hours, and press down the bread into the liquid, and tear a few pieces to help it out, but once everything was soaked it baked up perfectly in the 11x7 pan (crowded, but it fit). For a garnish, I melted a bit of vanilla ice cream to stand in for the custard sauce...ooh, I'm full... =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
This recipe is one of the best I have found. This dish is always a hit anytime I make it for family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
Yummy and very simple, I used up leftover bread and rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Very good, used whipping cream instead of half and half. Served with brown sugar sauce and cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
My mom use to make bread pudding all the time and used whatever bread she had leftover so when I saw this recipe, and had a loaf of rustic raisin bread, I decided to try it. First of all I don't think the pan was big enough for a 1 pound loaf of bread, I would recommend a 9X13, then toasting the bread seemed like an unnecessary step, and only made the bread tough after baking. I would also let the bread soak at least an hour before baking. I will make this again, but with these few modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This is probably the best bread pudding I've ever eaten, homemade or otherwise, and was the first I'd ever made. I received tons of compliments and many requests for a recipe. I even prepared it with old sandwich bread it turned out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugaree1485

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Starkville, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I didn't like the taste or texture of this dish. This is the second bread pudding I've ever made and I think because this wasn't soaked overnight it just seemed to be slices of layered flavored bread. It never came together in a more uniform texture as my other recipe did. My mom liked this, and liked the flavor, but I threw the rest away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
I am sitting here...still smelling this bread pudding aroma throughout my house. I just made this, on a whim, because I had so much french bread leftover from Superbowl. It is AWESOME. If you like raisins, use them! I think it would be best to add them, half way through cooking. I don't even usually rate..but this was an exception.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
I loved this!! I did omit raisins and pecans and I doubled the spices. I used heavy cream and soaked for an hour before baking. I also sprinkled brown sugar on top before baking and it was perfect! Served with a butter vanilla sauce and got rave reviews from a family gathering full of food snobs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States