French Quarter Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Excellent...however...I used 1lb french bread & all other ingredients had to be doubled or it would have been dry. No one in my home eats rasins so I used crushed pineapple and pecans. However, it would have been great w/out it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This was very good. This is my first time making bread pudding. I did add one thing. After I took the bread pudding out of the oven I drizzled it with sweet condensed milk. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks for posting this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
best bread pudding recipe i've made. the only thing to watch for - dont cook it for too long cos the outside will get dry and not very tasty. i will probably double the spices next time. didnt have a problem whatsoever with the raisins. just pushed them down into the pudding so they werent on top. covered with foil. oh, and i did have to double the whole recipe (minus the bread, pecans, and butter) because i mustve had a big loaf of bread and it didnt get soaked through real well. thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
We REALLY enjoyed this! It was delicious. Even Jay liked it. I changed it a little, by sprinkling brown sugar liberally over the top. I used my smaller glass casserole dish and sprayed a piece of tinfoil with pam to put over the pudding. We used left over carmel sauce from the bananas in carmel sauce recipe on this site - it was delish! EVERYONE enjoyed it. I did not have half and half - so used the whipping cream I had on hand instead, added a little extra vanilla, no raisins cause Jay hates those and I let it soak up the custard for about an hour before baking. Perfection! Carmel recipe was 1 C. sugar 1 C. butter - whipping cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Smells wonderful! Very easy! However the directions omitted the raisins. I just placed the raisins in the mixture and poured them on with the mixture...hope this is right. Can't wait to eat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Maybe I just don't like bread pudding but this wasn't quite what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This was good. Only thing I did different was used less pecans and more raisins because I like raisins more. I think if I make this again I would follow a suggestion to soak the bread longer, maybe in a big bowl or something to be able to stir it and get it more evenly soaked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
WOOZERS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Delish! Made without the raisens and sprinkled brown sugar over the top. Tip: Push the bread down in the liquid with your hands to soak well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandiee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by joy-of-jesus-smileymom
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Wow. Very rich, verrrry good. I would describe this dessert as a flavorful cross between rice pudding and baked french toast. By far the best I've tasted. I used a french baguette and a couple slices of apple raisin bread, along with heavy cream and milk. The raisins WERE good--I do recommend their addition. I had to soak the mixture a few hours, and press down the bread into the liquid, and tear a few pieces to help it out, but once everything was soaked it baked up perfectly in the 11x7 pan (crowded, but it fit). For a garnish, I melted a bit of vanilla ice cream to stand in for the custard sauce...ooh, I'm full... =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States