French Quarter Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Delicious!...my husband is a Native New Orleanian and he loves this bread pudding. The only variation I make with the recipe is substituing French Vanilla creamer for the 1 1/4 cup of milk. I also use the Praline Sauce as a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen Pahl
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I added slightly less butter (I can't help myself!), but otherwise the same. I stood the bread up in the pan (see photo). The photo was pre baking, but came out looking basically the same plus a nice golden brown. If you push down the slices of bread it will soak the juice right up and soak for an hour. Also, don't forget to add the raisins, the recipe forgets to add them! Just sprinkle all over the top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I tried this recipe for the first time. I substituded almond milk for for the regular milk and the half & half. The most important thing I did was cut the bread into chunks and put it in a gallon zip lock bag. Then I added the liquid then the pecans ( I didn't have rasins). Zip the bag and mix it up. It was so easy. I didn't have to wait an hour, it took less than 3 minutes for the bread to absorb. It was awesome. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I should have known better then to follow this recipe exactly as it was written because it did not require the bread to soak. Also, the recipe calls for slices of bread rather than cubes. Again, I should have known better than to follow this recipe exactly. After baking, the dish was literally layers of bread on top of each other. The texture was too dry for bread pudding. I made this for a party and was too embarrassed to serve this to people. I do not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Made this for Christmas Eve and received rave reviews from our guests. I used half french bread and half cinnamon raisin bread and did't add any more raisins. I soaked for 20 mins or so before baking (covered). Uncovered for the last 15 mins or so. Used a Tbsp of cinnamon. Otherwise, I followed the instructions as written. Came out perfect - not too soggy, not to dry. Coupled it with choices of rum and bourbon sauces :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
LOVED this bread pudding! I omitted the raisins(don't like them) and added brown sugar/cinnamon mix on top before baking. Instead of the 1 1/4 cup milk I used half and half for the entire recipe. I topped it with a vanilla-butter-heavy-cream sauce I found with another recipe after baking and it was amazing! Will absolutely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
My kids liked that this wasn't as custard like as other bread puddings and the pecans really add a lot. We love it for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
As far as anything you're baking with raisins, push the raisins down with your finger and they won't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Norman Hastings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
A little too sweet, cut back on sugar to 3/4 cup next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mokena, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Good stuff! I added both pecans and cinnamon raisins to the mix. Topped with rum sauce for a decadent treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States